Why I’m Sharing “Anne’s Adventures in Home Improvement”

Anne Emerick
Anne’s Adventures In Home Improvement
3 min readSep 3, 2022

--

Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko. This is not a photo of me, but close enough

Anne’s Adventures in Home Improvement was originally a phrase I used when emailing friends about what I was up to. Most of the ‘adventures’ revolved around a house my husband and I had purchased in Rochester, NY. It was a second home for us, a possible future retirement home, and would allow us to see much more of my son, daughter-in-law, and new baby (yeah!).

First the backstory

I had always thought of myself as having limited interior decoration skills. I was pretty sure I was not mechanically inclined. That is who I WAS.

My first inkling that I might be capable of more came when I attended a women’s carpentry class in June 2021. However, I didn’t do much with my new ‘basic skills’ when I returned home.

After all, John was the one who owned all the tools in the basement. He was the one who had installed the new sliding glass door, was adding a water softener to the house, and always dealt with the contractors. The fact that I now knew how to saw a board in half without injuring myself didn’t really change the equation.

But when we bought the Rochester house (four months after the carpentry class) things did change.

The ‘Home’ Part of Home Improvement

--

--

Anne Emerick
Anne’s Adventures In Home Improvement

Programmer by day. Author by night. As I put on running tights, I imagine I’m a superhero. Creator of Unemploymentville.com and No-Work Spanish.