Non-developer in the coding world — part 3

Mary Park
Annotdot
Published in
4 min readSep 19, 2016

The trilogy has come to an end. It’s been about two weeks since my last blog post. Before I continue with today’s entry, I’d like to sincerely apologize to everyone who read previous blog posts (part 1 and part 2)and felt it offensive and full of stereotypes. I definitely wasn’t targeting or trying to offend anyone. I’d like to thank you for all your comments and feedback and will, for sure, take it into account and watch out in my future blog entries.

With that aside, I’d like to begin today’s entry and talk about the third point I’ve been wanting to talk about: certain developers don’t consider food, clothing and shelter as important as most people do.

On this topic, I am going to talk about a certain developer: my co-worker C. I know some of you are already up at arms because of the title, but please! Trust me on this one. This entry is nothing like the previous two entries I wrote.

Now, let’s begin.

There are two types of people in this world: people who care VERY much about the food, clothing and shelter and people who don’t. Today I’ll be talking about my co-worker C who fits in the latter category.

C is a junior developer who loves coding. He seems to enjoy his job although he finds it challenging at times. Because he is a junior developer, he inevitably tends to get a lot of guidence from senior developers. Regardless of all the pressure he gets, he always tries his best to improve his code. I find it very encouraging to watch him work because I can see the passion he has for his job. He is also very detailed and tries not to leave out anything when he works.

However, his passion for coding has led him to be a bit more unconcerned on things that many people of his age are very interested in: food, clothing, and shelter. Let’s talk about food first. C barely eats anything. He is so focused in coding that often times he grabs a quick snack at the convenience store and works during lunch hours. To me, this is a bit mind blowing. I cannot imagine myself working during lunch hours or not having a proper meal for lunch, but C does it and enjoys it. When I see him working even during lunch hours, I feel sorry yet jealous at the same time because I feel like I don’t have the kind of passion C has regarding his job. Also, seeing him working motivates me to focus more with my job as well.

Next is clothing. I love T-shirts. I bet we all do. But I do wear other outfits as well. C doesn’t. He wears T-shirts every single day he comes to work. He doesn’t seem to be interested in fashion trend at all. He barely spends any money on clothing, and looks like he doesn’t care much about what other people think about what he wears. I really think highly of him because of this as well because I sense some sort of confidence from him.

The last thing I want to mention about C is that he is not very interested in shelter. Actually this has to do more with resting. When I get home after work, I tend to try to rest and stay away from anything related to work, but my co-worker C tends to take his laptop home to work on merging or publishing. At times, he does suffer during work hours due to lack of sleep, but he isn’t bothered by it at all. For someone who loves resting (like myself), it is quite fascinating that a person can actually have such a strong interest and passion on something to the point of making it into a part of his life.

Like I’ve mentioned many times already, I am learning so many things as I work with developers. I do admit I’ve struggled at times with communication and understanding how they think, but the more I work with them I am realizing that we are all equal after all. Watching my co-worker C has helped me a lot to process the fact that we are all equal and to stay motivated. I also believe that my point of view has widened compared to myself a few months ago. In all, I think all the struggle was worth it.

Please visit us at annot.io and check out what our awesome developers are working on! Also follow us on twitter @annotdot for more info about us or for any feedback! :)

--

--