SO THIS TRANSLATOR JUST MADE UP HIS MIND

Anomaly LIT
ANMLY
Published in
2 min readJun 18, 2016

by Marco Antonio Huerta

I decided that from this day on
I will only translate poetry
Written by queer poets of color
Exclusively
No exceptions made

Especially after what happened in Orlando
Especially after what happened in Xalapa
And what has happened before
What keeps on happening

Perhaps it was just a matter of time
For me to realize
That it makes no sense
For a queer Mexican translator
To keep on bringing more poetry
By white cis straight poets
Into Spanish

I think we’ve had enough of that
You’ve been at the center
For far too long now

It’s way past time for that to change

This is my way of helping to make that happen
This is my way to mourn and to honor the fallen
It doesn’t matter if you laugh at my decision
Because you don’t think it’s politically charged
Or you think it just isn’t good enough

It’s something I want to dedicate my life to
And I don’t need your permission

Así que este traductor se acaba de decidir

Marco Antonio Huerta

Decidí que a partir de ese día
Sólo traduciré poemas
Escritos por poetas queer de color
Exclusivamente
Sin excepción alguna

Especialmente después de lo que pasó en Orlando
Especialmente después de lo que pasó en Xalapa
Y lo que ha pasado antes
Lo que sigue ocurriendo

Tal vez sólo era cuestión de tiempo
Para que yo me diera cuenta
Que es un sinsentido
Que un traductor mexicano queer
Siga trayendo más poesía
de poetas blancxs bugas cis
Al español

Pienso que ya hemos tenido bastante de eso
has estado en el centro
Por demasiado tiempo ya

Hace mucho que es hora de cambiarlo

Esta es mi manera de ayudar a que suceda
Esta es mi manera de honrar y de llorar a lxs caídxs.
No importa si te burlas de mi decisión
Porque creas que no está políticamente cargada
O pienses que esto no sea suficientemente bueno

Es algo a lo que le dedicaré mi vida
Y no necesito tu permiso

--

--

Anomaly LIT
ANMLY
Writer for

The blog side of Anomaly, an online journal of arts and literature.