I Cheated To Get Into Grad School

Tiffany Shera
Anonymous Confessions
2 min readSep 6, 2019

Anonymous Confessions

To submit an anon, go here. It’s completely incognito.

The best confessions from our anonymous file.

Submitted 9/4/2019 by anonymous

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

I took an online accounting class because it was a prerequisite for grad school.

I took the first exam and absolutely bombed it, like 40% bombed it. Luckily, you get three attempts at the exam, so I got a tutor and studied up.

I got a pretty good score the second time around, but I was still paranoid about failing the second exam. The way I took exams was to go to a registered location, log onto my own computer, and take the exam. The proctor always left me alone in a small room.

I ended up cheating on the second and third exams. It was so easy because I could sit so my computer screen faced the wall and scroll between the exam screen and my notes.

Photo by Fabian Grohs on Unsplash

I justified it by telling myself I didn’t want to do anything involving accounting anyway, so I just needed to get through this prerequisite. I do feel guilty, but I’m not doing anything involving accounting and I took two (mandatory) similar courses in grad school and did fine without doing anything untoward.

Ultimately, it reflects poorly on me but I wouldn’t do it again and it’s not who I am.

Tell us what you think in the comments.

Submissions may be altered for length, clarity, or to protect anonymity.

--

--