My Mother Didn’t Want Me to Take the DNA Test

Tiffany Shera
Anonymous Confessions
2 min readSep 3, 2019

To submit an anon, go here. It’s completely incognito.

The best confessions from our anonymous file.

Tell us what you think in the comments.

Submitted 9/2/2019

Photo by Louis Reed on Unsplash

A few years ago I told my mom that I was going to buy one of those home DNA tests. My mom is really into genealogy and I thought that she would be excited, but instead, she got mad and told me that DNA tests are basically garbage and they aren’t reliable at all. I was really surprised.

The next day, I get a phone call from her and she starts talking to me about the test again. She’s being really pushy and asking me if I’m still considering taking the test and I said yeah, I don’t see what the big deal is unless you’re hiding something from me. She gets really offended and tells me if I’m going to be like that, she’s not going to take my abuse and hangs up.

So at this point, there’s no way I’m not going to take the test. I order it and spit in the little test tube thing and send it back the day I get it. The next month is the longest 4 weeks of my life.

Photo by Web Hosting on Unsplash

Finally, I get an email that my results are in and get ready to have my world rocked.

Except, the results are exactly what I would expect. I can see people I would expect on both sides popping up in my results. I’m thoroughly confused.

After some digging, it comes to light that my dad’s brother is actually my dad and if my mom had never said anything I would have never noticed that my cousins were a closer relationship than they should have been.

So I guess thanks, mom? But holidays have been pretty weird since and I really wish I would have listened to her and not taken the test.

--

--