Don’t Tell My Girlfriend; You give me all the feels

Spotify, I love you

David Rocha
Another Damn Travel Blog
3 min readOct 27, 2017

--

Spotify,

I love you; and here’s why.

The Good Feels

  • When I’m feeling homesick 6,000 miles away from home, you play Chillin On A Dirt Road. Thanks for making me feel at home with my family.
  • You always play music so that my girlfriend can’t hear me when I’m in the bathroom. She appreciates what a gem you are.
  • You cheer me up when I’m down on life; like that time you played “I’m A Survivor” by Destiny’s Child, when I didn’t get the job I was applying for.
  • Culture shock is a real thing, and when my loved ones are sleeping on the other side of the world, you are the only one who speaks to me in my own tongue. Words can’t express my gratitude.
  • You’re the light peaking through the mountain pass when WIFI leaves me for dead. You’re offline mode gives my flights substance and my road-trips’ a soundtrack.
  • When I walk through airports, I’m often in a music video; when I’m on a buss, I’m often in the 8 mile soundtrack. That’s powerful Spotify.
  • Sometimes you make me feel like I’m going to be rich enough to sing about my flip flops and my boat.That’s very rich Spotify.
  • You make my girlfriend feel special when I cook for her. You’re quick to put on the Dean Martin station while I pour a glass of wine. What a romantic you are Spotify.
  • You’re always inviting me to go see my favorite artist Oddisee live. I never go, but I really appreciate the invite.
  • You’re the up to my wake, the shine to my sun, and the eam to my dr… Thanks boo.

The Bad Feels

  • Yet, sometimes it’s bitter sweet between us. Like when you remind me of my old friends that I no longer talk to. Thrice usually does it :(
  • How did you know “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” was my high-school senior year song. You play it all of the time…Creeper.
  • I mean, sometimes, you interrupt me, and speak when you’re not supposed to; but who am I to take away your first amendment right.
  • Remember that one time I yawned inadvertently loud in Philosophy 101? The entire class laughed at me. I blame you Spotify.
  • Sometimes you make me really angry with the music you play. Sometimes I wish I could yell at you like I do with Siri.
  • Remember when we crashed the boat that summer night onto dry land. I was wake-boarding and you were driving. Thank goodness you didn’t hurt anyone.
  • Remember when you made me “that guy” in the library; the guy who talks too loud? A lot of people really hate you for that.
  • You make me sing “Whats Going On” by Four Non Blondes weekly. Everyone who’s ever worked with me over the past 3 years hates you.

All in all

You make me feel good and I like it. We’ve been through the thick and the thin, the top shelf and the bottom, the 1st worlds and the 3rd, the good friends and the bad , the Pittbulls and the Oddisees, the Thomas Kinkades and the Rembrants, the airport beds and the sun-kissed basins, the line-dancing and Argentinian Tango; you’ve been there for it all. You’re my rollercoaster of emotions and I don’t know what I’d do without you. You know more about me than most people in this world and I never thanked you for it.

Thanks for all of the feels Spotify.

p.s.

Pandora, you never made me feel this way.

IG → Another_damn_travel_blog
FB →Adtravelblog

--

--

David Rocha
Another Damn Travel Blog

I help startups get off the ground by running small tests around each element of their business model. I get a kick out of it :)