Hers: Calling Mom (The Beginning II)

Morgan | Culture | Meredith
Another Damn Travel Blog
1 min readOct 23, 2017

I’ve made my decision.

I think.

At the grocery store, I take my first step. I call my mom. “I think I’m going to get away for a while,” I cautiously venture.

“What does that mean?” she presses.

“I’ll probably leave the US for awhile. Explore. See the world. I’ve been wanting to do this for a long time,” I say without really thinking.

I’m doing that thing. During my senior year of high school, as I struggled to tell others my college major and direction, someone advised me to do the following: “Just start trying on majors. Choose one, and answer someone who asks with that. ‘I’m studying chemical engineering’, or ‘I’m majoring in art history’, and see how it feels. See how people react, how you react to their reactions, and you’ll have more clarity on whether that direction fits.”

I’m doing this now, with my mom. I’m not sure how it will land. She doesn’t question that I’m doing it; she only questions why NOW.

IG → Another_damn_travel_blog
FB →Adtravelblog

--

--

Morgan | Culture | Meredith
Another Damn Travel Blog

I write about mental health, travel, and tech. Digital nomad, motorcycle rider, dog lover. iammorgan.com