Heads Up Hand of Week — February 13th, 2009

Michael Gugel
AnskyPoker
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2009

Villain has been calling my 3bets very light. I 3bet him 8 times and he’s called 6 of them. He folds to my continuation bets around half the time which is a bit loose considering I’ve been cbetting rather conservatively. He moderately aggressive on all streets.

Hero (SB) ($183.70)
Button ($238.20)

Preflop: Hero is SB with Js, Jh
Button raises to $3, Hero raises to $11, Button calls $8

Flop: ($22) 3s, 9s, 8h (2 players)
Hero bets $14, Button calls $14

Turn: ($50) 6h (2 players)
Hero bets $33, Button calls $33

River: ($116) 7d (2 players)
Hero checks, Button bets $180.20 (All-In), Hero calls $125.70 (All-In)

Total pot: $367.40 | Rake: $0.50

Looking back, I think my call on the river was pretty bad. I should have folded. Here’s why:

He’s calling 3bets very light and he could easily have QT, JT, 9T, 8T, even 7T in his range. I really don’t think he jams all in this deep with 2 pair here, but it’s not completely out of the question if he puts me on an overpair (and it’s unlikely I have a T in my range). The only think I’m really beating here is a double float or a busted flush draw that decided to take a shot at the pot. I do not think he’s nearly good enough to put me on an overpair and turn a made, but weak hand like A8 into a bluff.

The bad players are not the ones that make mistakes, they are the ones that don’t learn from them.

--

--