Mistakes

Michael Gugel
AnskyPoker
Published in
1 min readJul 7, 2009

About a week ago, I made a mistake at $200NL HU vs. Smokin Mokin (a breakeven reg). Here’s the hand in question.

Hero (BB) ($200)
Button ($245)

Preflop: Hero is BB with 8♦, 6♦
Button bets $6, Hero calls $4

Flop: ($12) Q♦, 6♠, 9♦ (2 players)
Hero checks, Button bets $8, Hero raises to $30, Button calls

Turn: ($72) J♠ (2 players)
Hero checks, Button bets $55.55, Hero calls

River: ($183.1) 5♣ (2 players)
Hero bets $108.45 (all-in)

My line makes no sense. In retrospect, there are 2 ways I could’ve played this hand. With a gutshot, flush draw, and a pair on the turn I could lead and call a shove or checkfold the river if I didn’t improve. I messed up pretty bad, but we all make mistakes at the poker table. Winners learn from their mistakes. Losers don’t.

It’s really important to acknowledge your mistakes, but not dwell on the them. Dwelling on mistakes makes you lose confidence in your game, go on tilt, etc. I try to hold my head up high when I mess up. I’m not ashamed or embarrassed. As Emmitt Smith once said, “I may win and may lose, but I will never be defeated.”

Learn to fail successfully.

--

--