Life Lessons From UX

Eden Jackson
AnswerLab User Experience (UX) Insights
5 min readJun 1, 2021
Woman on a career journey

One of the most common questions I get when talking with folks new to UX is “What do you wish you knew when you were first starting out?”

As someone who joined the world of UX “by accident,” there was a lot I didn’t know. Over time, I picked up several lessons from my work; some are core to my daily job-related tasks, and others I’ve carried with me outside the office or research lab.

Today, I’ll share five UX lessons I’ve learned over the years and how they apply to everyday life:

  1. It’s ok to be wrong
  2. It’s ok to not know something
  3. You don’t have to be good at everything. Be good at what you do
  4. Find your crew, even if they don’t do the same thing you do
  5. Trust your gut

1. It’s ok to be wrong

When testing a product or concept with users, it’s a given that the first shot is going to be wrong. That’s why we do research: to uncover use cases we didn’t previously consider, mental models we weren’t expecting, and usability issues we didn’t account for. When we discover these, we don’t berate ourselves. We adjust, iterate, and retest until we’ve created something that works.

In the same way, there will be times in my life where I might get something wrong. I will inadvertently share false information, say something unkind to a friend, or miss something I should have seen. Just like in research, I shouldn’t criticize myself for being wrong. I should use it as an opportunity to better myself. Life is a continual lesson in what not to do. I might as well make it easier on myself and accept it as part of the process of becoming a better person.

2. It’s ok to not know something

At the beginning of any research process, there’s a lot that I don’t know. I’m not sure how participants will react to an idea or the value they place on certain features. I don’t know how exactly to improve the design or what experiences I’m going to uncover. I go in with a lot of questions, looking forward to what answers I’ll discover. Not knowing is a critical part of the research process, and being willing to embrace the unknown opens the door to surprising and impactful research insights.

In life, it’s common to come across facts I don’t know, subjects I’m not familiar with, skills I don’t have, or questions I don’t have answers to. Not knowing something isn’t a failure, but instead an invitation to discover interesting information and learn new truths.

3. You don’t have to be good at everything. Be good at what you do.

I’m confident in my knowledge of UX research. I can explain the minute differences between similar methodologies and recommend the appropriate one to meet various research needs. I know how to write a complex screener to recruit the right people and can quickly create rapport with participants when a session begins.

When it comes to design, however, I’m much less knowledgeable. I’m less confident in how to put my findings together in a visually appealing way. I don’t know the ins and outs of color theory or the exact color code of the AnswerLab logo. While it’s important to try to understand the world around me and the work my colleagues do, I don’t need to be an expert in everything. When planning a product, I can consult a designer on those nuanced design decisions. I can ask the developer what capabilities are feasible on the backend. I don’t have to be good at every part of the process. I can focus on honing my research skills and collaborating with my colleagues to create a successful product.

Likewise, it’s ok if I’m bad at singing or if I’m completely uncoordinated. I may never be able to make beautiful handmade works of art. I can enjoy what I’m good at without striving to do everything. Rather than comparing myself to those around me, I can focus on my skills and let others shine with theirs.

4. Find your crew even if they don’t do the same thing you do.

No matter how supportive the culture is at your place of employment, there are going to be times when things get difficult and you need someone to rely on. It’s important to find your “crew,” whether or not they work on the same team as you. Having them know the nitty-gritty details of your project isn’t always important. You can still enjoy a coffee break in between sessions, get advice on team dynamics, or ask for a second set of eyes on a presentation. Personally, I’ve found friendship in product and project managers, developers, and designers. UX has really high highs and really low lows. Having an outside ear and perspective will help navigate them.

Life will throw all sorts of challenges your way. You aren’t meant to go about it alone. Make friends and find your people, even if they don’t like to go hiking or binge reality TV. Having the exact same interests isn’t important, feeling supported, heard, and seen is. When you have a support system, life is a lot easier.

5. Trust Your Gut

I have pretty good intuition and can easily see the bigger picture. When I have a hunch about something or a thought on how I should approach a project, I’m often right. In those moments it’s important for me to ask clarifying questions and raise potential concerns. When I don’t do those things, I find myself confused, or the team encounters roadblocks that could have been avoided if we had talked about them. It’s important for me to be confident in my skills and trust my gut in order to conduct impactful research.

In life, we can usually tell when something is off. We encounter moments when we know we should speak up and take action. Trust yourself to do the right thing. You’ve got this.

So what do I wish I had known when I started my UX journey? I wish I knew how many valuable lessons I would learn and how many talented people would improve both my professional and personal lives. There are challenges I’ll face and struggles I’ll have to overcome, but these will just be opportunities to learn more life lessons.

Want to learn more about AnswerLab? We write about UX, research, digital leadership, and more here on Medium and on our website. Follow our publication, Twitter, LinkedIn, or Facebook to stay in touch.

--

--