Real Food Breakfast Challenge

By Brian Howard

My gallery walk is a cooking did you know video about one of my favorite breakfasts I have. I make scrambled eggs with feta cheese and spinach. When looking at where my products came from and if they qualified as “REAL Food” I was surprised to see that only my spinach was apart of the real group. My eggs were vegetarian fed hens, but the packaging is not recycled packaging and is not able to be recycled so the eggs do not count as real food because its not ecologically sound. Also I was surprised to see that my feta cheese I was buying is not all natural and that the label said “No significant difference has been shown between milk derived from cows treated with artificial growth hormone and those not treated with artificial growth hormone.” Which raised some questions for me about how the cows were being treated and fed. This led me to investigate other options for my feta cheese which I did find, it was a little bit more expensive but did not include this type of label. My spinach however was non-gmo, the package was 100% recycled.

Screen shot of the final recipe

What I think people will get from my gallery walk is that even though this may seem like a healthy meal there are ways I can improve where I’m getting these foods from and get “REAL Food”. This meal is still a good way to start your day, very tasteful and quick and easy to make. One way I try to help with my waste for this meal is by putting my eggshells in my family’s composter which turns fruit, vegetable peels, the outside of pineapples into soil for our yard. This is something my family just started doing last year as we are trying to lower our environmental footprint. This meal is a perfect example of looking into a more sustainable way to prepare a meal which is what IU has been doing since 2007.

Works Cited

IU Campus Garden Initiative. (n.d.). Retrieved December 09, 2020, from https://www.facebook.com/IuCampusGardenInitiative/about/?ref=page_internal

University, I. (n.d.). Food. Retrieved December 09, 2020, from https://sustain.iu.edu/commitment/food/index.html

University, I. (n.d.). Sustainability. Retrieved December 09, 2020, from https://www.dining.indiana.edu/gogreen/index.html

--

--

Keitlyn Alcantara
ANTH P380 Prehistoric Diet and Nutrition

Anthropological bioarchaeologist, writer, and believer in food as the solution to everything.