Antics of Dream Flyers

Acrobatic

--

A poem of dreamtime flying, corresponding to the oral cues and illustration of Donnie K., 4th grade, Poets-in-the-Schools.

Illustration by Donnie K.

I guess everyone wants to run away
and be a circus performer some day.
But I don’t run, I become one —

DONNIE WHO DARES (in my dreaming).
I ride my unicycle on a high wire,
scaring the audience below.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Yet I hate to hear strangers screaming,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀He’s going to fall! What? Never!
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀But I could make it part of the show:

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀lose my balance . . fall . . . recover . . .
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀And fly around the Big Top,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀then up to the sky and never stop . . .

“Acrobatic” originally published in Antics of Dream Flyers, © 2016 Margaret Honton, Sophia Books, Pueblo, CO.

--

--

Margaret Honton
Antics of Dream Flyers

Daughter· Scholar· Maggie· Gretchen· Margarita· Missus· Mom· Godmother· Doppelgänger· Occupant· Pearl· Divorcee· Megan· Poet· Patient· Marguerite· Dreamer