Antics of Dream Flyers

Angelic

--

A poem of dreamtime flying, corresponding to the oral cues and illustration of Lisa K., 3rd grade, Poets-in-the-Schools.

Illustration by Lisa K.

Lisa’s mother kisses her,
whispering, “My little angel . . .
when you’re asleep.”

Lisa isn’t deep asleep,
⠀⠀and the idea pleases her.
⠀⠀⠀⠀I’m an archangel, she decides,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀the sky is my domain.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I can fly slower than a glider,
⠀⠀⠀⠀or faster than a supersonic plane.
⠀⠀I can defy gravity,
⠀⠀⠀⠀loop-di-loop like a honeybee,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀or hover like a hummingbird.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I can go anyplace,
⠀⠀⠀⠀ease through time and space
⠀⠀as quickly as a thought or word:
just be.

“Angelic” originally published in Antics of Dream Flyers, © 2016 Margaret Honton, Sophia Books, Pueblo, CO.

--

--

Margaret Honton
Antics of Dream Flyers

Daughter· Scholar· Maggie· Gretchen· Margarita· Missus· Mom· Godmother· Doppelgänger· Occupant· Pearl· Divorcee· Megan· Poet· Patient· Marguerite· Dreamer