Launching a startup in 10 weeks šŸ¤ø

Daniel Hummelsund
Antler
Published in
3 min readAug 23, 2021

Exciting news! In March, I paused this newsletter to pursue my own startup idea.

Since I was 16 years old, Iā€™ve wanted to build my own company. Iā€™m coming from a family of entrepreneurs: both my grandfathers ran their own companies (a fishing and a painting company), my parents built a printing press business and my brother is running a HR consultancy. Now I have the opportunity to follow a similar path, as Iā€™ve joined the Antler programme.

Antler is an early-stage accelerator. With hubs in 16 countries across the world, they invite about 50 people to participate in each programme. The first ten weeks, we work together and team up as potential co-founders, find and validate a business idea and finally pitch for funding. When we (hopefully) secure funding from Antler, we work the following four months on launching a minimal viable product (MVP).

šŸ’” To have or not to have an idea

Although some founders join without having a particular idea in mind to pursue, I have developed one over the past four months: enabling musicians to monetise their social content. Most successful musicians struggle to make ends meet: streaming pays very little, concerts are at best break-even and merchandise requires a lot of work. Creating a predictable revenue stream for musicians would positively impact so many musiciansā€™ lives.

Which leads me to my motivations: launching my own startup means I get to work on something I care about. Moreso, having ownership in what I do is inspiring and meaningful ā€” and if I make this company a success, Iā€™ll have financial freedom (which would be nice šŸ™ƒ).

šŸ‘€ FOMO

As weā€™re all here to find co-founders, everyone joining Antler is open and friendly, trying to get to know as many as possible. The first week was great fun but instense for the introverts šŸ˜¬ As we only have ten weeks to meet co-founders and launch the company, weā€™re making the most of every little minute and can, at some time, even feel FOMO if someone else is discussing an exciting business opportunity! No one wants to miss a beat.

Antlerā€™s main value is their impressive network of investors and advisors; the first week we had several lectures by successful entrepreneurs and investors who are driving the Norwegian startup scene.

šŸ›  The work begins

First week was filled with lectures and hanging out. This week we start working together. We have two 24-hour sprints where weā€™ll collaborate in groups on coming up with an innovate business solution in insurance and real estate.

Stay tuned for updates on my entrepreneurial journey and whether I find my soulmate(s) in businessā€¦

šŸ‘‰ This article was originally published on my blog: danielsblog.substack.com

Antler enables exceptional people to create exceptional companies. If you want to become a startup founder, find the perfect co-founder and create impactful companies to shape the future, apply now and begin your Antler journey.

--

--

Daniel Hummelsund
Antler
Writer for

I have moved my blog to http://danielsblog.substack.com. See you there šŸ¤øā€ā™‚ļø