When Writing about Heavy Topics, Give Yourself Some Extra Grace

I’m tired of writing about anxiety.

Tiffany Ciccone
Anxious with Jesus
2 min readAug 9, 2020

--

Photo by Calum MacAulay on Unsplash

So I signed up for this challenge to blog every day of August. Totally doable. Except. My topic is my anxiety disorder and the mess it makes when mixed with my Christian faith. I thought this wouldn’t be too hard, because I have a messy 90 page manuscript on the topic, and over a decade of experiences upon which to reflect.

I’m pretty wrong. It’s not easy. I’m tired of recalling the most difficult moments of my life. It’s satisfying to find words to convey the darkness, but it’s still darkness. It’s not fun stuff to recall.

Then there’s all the regular self-doubt of writing. And the perfectionism. My anxiety disorder doesn’t always take breaks when it’s time to write about it. It’s heavy to live it, contemplate it, and write about it.

So tonight I decided to cut myself some slack. Sure, I committed to this blogging challenge. But also, writers are into breaking rules, I think. (Idk, I haven’t been one for long.)

All I know for sure is that Jesus understands. He knows my heart weighs heavy. He knows what I need, and He cuts me slack. He doesn’t demand deadlines and editorial perfectionism. He just loves me. And not because I’m awesome, but because He is love. And so tonight, world, this is what my soul felt like mustering up.

To all you writers and creators out there working with the heavy content, cut yourself some slack. Grace yourself. Take a break and enjoy some lightness. You are not your struggle, nor are you your productivity. Recharge. You are essential and loved. ❤

--

--

Tiffany Ciccone
Anxious with Jesus

English teacher/writer in San Diego. Reflecting on the messy intersection of faith and clinical anxiety when I'm not getting punched in the face by it.