Victory, Mischief, and Spunk

A chance capture that brings me tremendous joy

Walter Rhein
Any Writers
Published in
2 min readSep 29, 2020

--

Image by Walter Rhein

This is one of my favorite pictures of my daughter. It was during a family play day at the river a few years ago. She’s in the process of splashing me with a cup full of water.

If you look, you can see the water has already exploded out of the top of the cup. I’m doomed. There’s no escape. My daughter knows it. She got me.

There are so many things going on in her expression that it takes a while to unpack them all.

There’s satisfaction.

There’s mischief.

There’s excitement.

There’s delight.

There’s laughter.

There’s joy. Mostly joy. Perhaps joy is the combination of all these things.

A cousin of mine looked at this picture. “That little stinker!” he said. But he was smiling when he said it.

Who can look at this picture and not smile?

I captured this moment with a waterproof camera that I bought secondhand for exactly this type of situation.

She’s “getting” her daddy.

“I’m going to get you, daddy!”

You never get a smile like that in a studio photograph. There’s life there!

I love that smile; it has every ounce of her personality all at once.

Victory, mischief, and spunk!

Keep on splashing, girl!

--

--

Walter Rhein
Any Writers

I have 10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist.