We Use The Word Hate In The Wrong Context So It No Longer Has Any Meaning

The power of the word is gone because we apply it to everything in our life

Chasing Dreams
Any Writers

--

Photo by Nathan Cowley from Pexels

I hate you. I hate Mondays. I hate it when that happens. I hate the way that makes me feel. I hate that sound, and on and on it goes.

It sort of rolls off the tongue, doesn’t it? We hear the word hate and use it so much, that it no longer has meaning.

Hate should be powerful. When used it should have an impact, slam into us and knock us over with its intention.

When I think of hate, I think of the term Hate Crimes. That symbolizes true hatred directed at someone and it has an impact.

When trying on clothes or tasting new food for the first time we often use the word hate. I hate the way that shirt looked on me, or I hate kale. Sorry, that does not work. Yet, we do it all the time.

Someone asks what you think of a new book or movie and you respond that you hated it.

Whatever happened to words like dislike or a simple explanation? I saw the movie but didn’t like it, the plot was boring. I tried kale and the taste was disgusting.

Why do we choose the word hate? Does it give more meaning or emphasis? No, it does not. Not in…

--

--

Chasing Dreams
Any Writers

Discovering the joy of writing. Wandering through life one step at a time and following the magic.