Day 100 of the 100-day writing challenge.

Wambui Njuguna
Anyone Can Write Online
3 min readNov 7, 2022

This post is way overdue. It's long after the 100-day mark and frankly, I’ve been dreading writing this post.

But, I shared the beginning, and the progress, so it’s only fair that I share with you my thoughts at the finish line.

The discomfort and a little bit of shame are nothing I don’t deserve and part of challenges is showing up with your battle scars and trophies in plain sight.

Photo by Museums Victoria on Unsplash

I started the 100-day writing challenge at least two weeks after I started writing online. This challenge was a way for me to build discipline when writing.

I took up this participation when I realized I was not consistent in creating, I only wrote when motivation struck. I knew to succeed as an online writer I needed to change that and build up my consistency.

I shared my lessons and progress along the way with several articles. I embed them here in the order I wrote them starting from the onset of the challenge.

The 100-day writing challenge has been an absolute failure. There are no other achievements I have made along the way that can sugar-coat this truth.

I have immensely built up my library of content online, become more effective when working, learned what it takes to be productive, and implemented habits that help me grow personally and in my career.

I attribute some of these achievements to the 100-day writing challenge. Without it, I would have never pushed myself to write because I am a writer not because motivation struck.

A screenshot of my tweet.
Photo: screenshot from author’s Twitter.

The initial goal of this challenge was to publish an article daily for 100 days and implement other habits that would help me grow an audience. I feel I could have a bigger audience and build more authority around myself as a content creator and my work if I followed through with the strategy.

I am very organized. I am good at planning and writing down strategies, but not very good at following through. I lack accountability, and without accountability, discipline is a hard mountain to climb.

I write every day on LinkedIn. It’s not something I planned to do, I did not put up a strategy and announce it to my audience like I did the Medium writing challenge. I find myself logging into the app daily, creating content, and engaging.

Could the lack of a definite reward for writing on Medium be my poison? Is it why I do not fight against all odds to show up daily as I do on LinkedIn? Or am I just plain lazy?

Genuine question. I’d appreciate a response in the comment section.

--

--

Wambui Njuguna
Anyone Can Write Online

Compiling my first book, How to develop a healthy relationship with your environment, in my newsletter. Get access: https://wambui.carrd.co/