How social media detox can make you 10X more mindful

My experience of 4 years of social media detox

Ekta Mohapatra
Anyone Can Write Online
4 min readJul 1, 2022

--

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Over 5 billion people worldwide use the internet, which is 63% of the global population. Of this total, 4.65 billion are active social media users, accounting for 58.4% of the worldwide population.

This has led to a growing dependence on the virtual world which affects us in multitudes. 46% of Americans say they could not live without their mobile phones. Two in five adults (40%) first look at their phone within five minutes of waking up, rising to 65% of those aged under 35.

When was the last time you checked your social media?

1 hour ago?

5 minutes ago?

Or do you still have a social media app open in another tab?

Do you wish to use social media as often as you currently do?

Probably not! But you do not know how to tackle the same.

Did it ever cross your mind to give up on social media or go for a social media detox as a solution?

It struck me 5 years ago that social media has taken over my life. First, I used to constantly check my phone notifications. Second, get influenced by the updates of people I did not even know. Third, felt a severe sense of FOMO ( Fear Of Missing Out).

This was exactly when I decided to go for a social media detox for 4 years.

4 years?

Yes, 4 years. ( It was not planned, but it happened)

I deactivated or deleted all of my social media presence including Facebook and Instagram. This is how it helped me and could help you too.

Clear the clutter

You open Instagram to take a break of 5 minutes. You end up in the infinite scroll of reels. UK adults spend an average of 8 hours 41 minutes a day on screens (more time than they are asleep). This leads to consuming content that adds no value to your life.

A social media detox helped me refrain from consuming content that does not serve any purpose for me. I was able to intentionally declutter my life of content with no significant value.

Eliminate Distraction

On average, Americans check their phones 344 times per day. (That’s once every 4 minutes!) Our smartphones pose as an object of constant distraction. This decreases our attention span and concentration.

A social media detox helped me achieve a distraction-free environment that was productive and peaceful.

Connecting with valuables

Social media eats up valuable time in our life. It is estimated that an individual would spend 6 years and 8 months of his/her lifetime on social media. This leaves an even lesser amount of time to do things we love and connect to people we love.

“Time is really the only capital that any human being has, and the only thing he can’t afford to lose.” — Thomas Edison.

A social media detox helped me to connect with people who I value and who value me. I saw an increase in quality connections with my family and friends. It helped me build a life I aspired for.

Self Appreciation

Comparing yourself with others is shown to reduce positive feelings and deflate self-esteem. And social media provides us with fertile ground for comparison.

When I graduated from college, my personal and professional aspirations were way different from the people around me. I was preparing for competitive exams when people were traveling. I left my job when people were taking up new jobs or joining MBA colleges.

This, if not made me question my decisions, certainly made me rethink my chosen path. It made me compare my journey with others.

Time off from social media, to a large extent, assured me of a life devoid of comparisons.

Do I recommend going for a social media detox?

These 4 years of social media detox helped me to realize my true self. It helped me to appreciate the beauty of my life in ways I cannot express.

But let’s be real, Social Media Detox for 4 years?

It is not practical!

Social media today drives businesses. It helps connect with people beyond national borders and even get jobs. It also helped me discover the platform of Medium. Alongside, today, social media forms an integral part of my writing business.

Hence, instead of a prolonged social media detox, here’s what you could do,

  • Take a few hours or days off social media every month.
  • Use social media more intentionally.
  • Be more aware and mindful of your social media or phone usage by tracking it.
  • Keep your social media life and your personal life detached. Social media is only and only a part of any modern-day individual's life. Not their whole life.
  • Take control of your social media before it takes control of you.

And at the end of the day, a little bit of mindless social media scroll or entertainment, won’t cost you your life!

--

--

Ekta Mohapatra
Anyone Can Write Online

💁‍♀Freelance writer obsessed with fiction 📌I write about freelancing, society and life! 📋Organizing is my therapy 🚀 https://linktr.ee/ektamohapatr