I Stopped Posting for 12 Days and Lost 300 Followers

Why Medium is unsustainable af

Susie Pinon
Anyone Can Write Online

--

I published last on July 19th, and decided to log into Medium on August 1st to see how far my stats had dipped.

From 25k+ views in a 30 day period to…10k.

Wow.

And the difference between now and two weeks ago is, I don’t think I care so much.

In May, I tried my hand at a Medium sprint. I basically killed myself posting 2–3 articles per DAY. I took on Medium full time. I tried my hand at my first 1k month.

$1000 for full-time in ONE MONTH. You can do the math.

I failed, because lucky for me, an algorithm update had been published in May where maximum output made no difference at all. That was followed by a Medium scare where I thought my earnings were slashed by $200+ dollars for the month of May.

I started to wonder what purpose it was to endure for nickels and dimes.

I couldn’t even take off time when I got Covid in December, my first cousin died, or during my recovery from surgery.

Like what the actual fuck?

You might know I was working on my Medium Flagship course. People still ask me if that’s still in the plan.

--

--

Susie Pinon
Anyone Can Write Online

If I’m not typing, I’m at the beach, eating chocolate, yoga-ing, or watching my soaps. Here to help you grow into your best self without making it hurt.😉