The Power of You

When something is for free, you’re the product.

@EyeshaBee
Anyone Can Write Online
3 min readJun 24, 2022

--

Dark theme instagram logo with blue and pink squares
Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

The easiest trap to fall into is Buying Followers. We’ve all been tempted at some point and think it can’t hurt. But it does. Hugely. As someone who manages social media accounts for other people and brands, I cannot stress enough the importance of a genuine, organically engaged audience.

When something is for free, you’re the product.

We’ve heard this a million or a gazillion times. But what does this mean?

Brands are buying your views. THEY are paying to be seen by YOU. You are important to them. They want to show up in your feed ahead of your best friend’s post. Yes! That is what every brand out there is vying for today. They’re also paying top dollar for it.

So, when do free things stop being free? Mostly when an avenue for revenue generation arises after all the things you could give for free have been taken.

Instagram’s Subscription Model

The new subscription model on Instagram is confusing to me. As a follower, do you really engage with a particular content creator to the extent of wanting to pay for exclusive content that will be in stories for 24 hours? Do you really want a live video that is for a private audience? And what about that badge? Does it matter?

For some people, the answer is Yes. For a large number, the answer is still No. But Instagram sees itself as being able to monetise this.

an image of a subscription page for Instagram creators
Image re-created by author

This subscription model is great for creators.

They can now customise content for their subscribers. Their genuinely engaged audience. According to this article on the Business Instagram website:

With Instagram Subscriptions, creators can develop deeper connections with their most engaged followers and grow their recurring monthly income by giving subscribers access to exclusive content and benefits, all within the same platform where they interact with them already.

Has anyone thought about how hard it is to create content daily with a smile on your face? I get exhausted in one photoshoot, and on the other side, content creators are doing this every single day! Phew*

I love that creators are getting another avenue to earn an income. But my concern is the followers. We are subscribing to everything — Netflix, Amazon, Facebook, Instagram etc.

Are we subscribing to Life or are we forgetting how to live it?

The pressure is mounting, and I’d like to see us take the reins back. But alas! I’m a social media junkie like many of you reading this. I don’t know if I will ever click on that subscribe button, but I’d love to hear from those of you who have. Is it truly worth it?

Subscribe to get my writing delivered to your inbox or connect with me via email. It may take some time, but I will definitely respond. Write to me at eyesha.bee@gmail.com

--

--

@EyeshaBee
Anyone Can Write Online

I write about food, love, relationships and things that matter to me. All things Words excite me. Twitter @EyeshaBee