I’m an Imposter. I Didn’t Start Writing in My Childhood

Geenha Odafe
Anyone Can Write Online
3 min readJul 7, 2022
A little girl writing on a book
Image by Marta Wave on Pexels

Almost every writer says they loved writing as a child.

I’m not one of them.

And I have nothing against it. Except reading their stories makes me feel we’re frauds. Those of us who didn’t start writing in their childhood.

The imposters, pretending to be true writers.

Talents can be born

I have a sister who used to write stories as a child. She just couldn't stop writing.

We all thought she’d be a famous writer when she grew up because of how talented she was.

Now she’s in her late twenties and isn’t the least interested in writing anything. Not in a long time.

Talents can be made

When I was a child, I hated writing.

I have muscle spasms whenever I write. It prevents me from writing for long periods.

I don’t know if I wanted to write as a child, but imagine writing in school all day long with that condition.

My fingers used to hurt a lot. So there was no way I’d return home and continue writing, even if I wanted to.

Surprisingly, today I have become this person who calls herself a writer.

Talents are either born or made.

Everyone is born with one or more talents.

But not every one of those talents will stay forever.

Everyone acquires talents later in life. But not all of those talents stay forever too.

The age you master a talent doesn’t make you any less than those who started earlier in life.

Yes, they are more experienced than you are. But being more experienced doesn’t always mean being better. Because everyone has their way of doing things that makes them unique.

Talents come and go

My mum used to love fashion, and she still does.

She had a fashion house with employees and high-profile clients.

Fast forward to twenty years later, now she’s an agriculturist and she’s very good at what she does.

Nothing is set in stone.

If you have a talent and earn well from it today, it doesn’t guarantee that you’ll be doing it tomorrow.

Excel in what you have now

Forget about the years of experience you have or do not have.

As long as you are interested in what you are doing, focus on that.

Focus on being better and improving yourself.

You’re not a fake nor an imposter. Maybe you walked in later than others.

Don’t let that deter you.

Keep growing, and don’t forget to bask in your wins. It might seem little compared to others, but it’s big for you.

Enjoy the process of learning, failing and trying again.

So tomorrow, if you move on from that skill, you won’t regret not giving it your best or enjoying every moment.

If you want to know how I started my journey as a writer, here’s the backstory, at least some of it.

--

--