BECOMING A WRITER

Why I Started Writing

When I started this journey, I asked myself: “Who am I doing this for? And why does anyone care what I have to say?”

Leanna Jackson
Anyone Can Write Online

--

Becoming a writer is much more difficult than simply putting words to paper. It’s about learning to simplify your ideas, explore new vocabulary, and find your voice.

Photo by Dino Reichmuth on Unsplash

It’s one thing to journal in a notebook that is hidden away from the world. It’s another to write your thoughts out and hit ‘Publish’ on a public forum with your name attached.

At the beginning of this month, I decided to jump into writing for myself. I’ve been a freelance writer, I’ve written travel blogs, and I’ve even tried writing a fiction book once upon a time.

Every time I’ve written before, I’ve tried to fit into boxes defined by others’ expectations.

This time I’m writing for myself.

To get started, I asked myself “what do I have to share?”

It’s easy to think that our personal experiences are not unique enough to share with the world. But it turns out, we all perceive things differently.

Our unique perspectives are what set us apart, it’s how we add value to those around us.

So here I am sharing my experiences with life, career, travel, and my journey to become a writer. That is what I have to share with the world. For me (right now), it doesn’t matter how many views my articles get, this is all about practice.

Sure, I have goals for my writing. But, they are not extreme:

  • Publish 50 articles in 2022
  • Expand the number of topics I write about
  • Write 500 words a day, 30 days in a row

Setting goals gives me something to measure my progress against. The numbers are trivial and have no meaning.

The main component here is practice. Most writing professionals tell newcomers the best way to improve is to write more. Anyone can write if they want (right, Ann Handley?).

Where will writing take me?

Photo by Lital Levy on Unsplash

I’m not sure where this journey will lead yet. For years I’ve contemplated writing a book, becoming a travel blogger, changing careers to copywriting, and more.

Right now, I’m not trying to earn clients and make thousands on my work. I just want to share my experience moving through life.

Because I believe that shared experience can connect us through a computer screen.

For now, I’ll keep writing, keep reading, and keep exploring new techniques.

Why do you write?

--

--