Confession of a Bad Friend…

On the difficulties in maintaining relationships

Praise Adeola
Anything, Everything & In-between

--

Dorcas and The Purple Writer

Bless me Father, for I have sinned…

For the past couple of weeks, I have been on an emotional roller coaster, disregarding my emotional exhaustion because I’m used to fighting and repressing my emotions and illnesses.

It seems as though I am being excluded from the happenings of people who are significant to me. I haven’t checked in on some of my friends and the other day, I completely missed that a close friend had a birthday. Things like this are beginning to happen more often than not.

I would prefer to blame my job; given my new responsibilities at the office, but there are a ton of people in the world who work a 9 -5. If I am being honest and let myself be vulnerable, I’ll say I’m worn out. I’m sick of juggling my relationships; with God, family, friends and work.

With God, things are usually simple, but there’s always room for miscommunication and compromise with friends and family. While in college, I made myself available to everyone, sometimes at the expense of my needs. But here I am, seemingly missing from the lives of the individuals who matter to me the most. Where, then, is the balance?

I’m telling you this so that you understand that it’s okay to be open about what you don’t know. There are so many things that I am yet to understand and to be honest, I worry that I might not be able to please everyone.

I fear some people might fall off the scales once they have been balanced and weighed. That those in my life might not fit in the new space I’m carving. I’m scared that those I love will be upset and it makes me sad. But I know that for me to grow, I must do this.

Some friends are seasonal and conditional, and there is nothing wrong with acknowledging this.

I’m learning this the hard way. It stings, but it’s a fact that I’m probably someone’s conditional friend. I am still learning the ropes on how to maintain all my relationships while developing a career. I know that I am not the only one with this struggle and when I find this balance, I’d be ecstatic to share what I have learned with you in the hopes that it strengthens your friendships. If you have found the hack for maintaining relationships please let me know in the comment.

Till then, keep this writer in your prayers.

If you enjoyed reading any of our articles, please clap as many times as possible as it makes the post more visible to those who may like it or learn from it. You can also follow us, share, and leave a comment. We’re on Twitter and would love to interact with you!

--

--