Old Friends, New Beginnings

On Reconnecting With Old Friends

Praise Adeola
Anything, Everything & In-between
3 min readSep 25, 2023

--

Photo by Author

Life has a funny way of pulling people apart. We often find ourselves drifting from people we once considered our closest friends. Time, circumstances, and even misunderstandings can create rifts that seem impossible to bridge. For the sake of personal peace and closure, I made a bold attempt to reconnect with an old friend, and that changed our lives.

We all have that one friend we used to spend endless hours with, share our deepest secrets, and laugh until our stomachs hurt. For me, that friend was Rachel. We met in primary school and quickly became inseparable. Our bond was unbreakable, or so we thought. As the years passed, life took us in different directions. Going to the university, jobs, and relationships consumed our time and energy. Our friendship had become a memory, a bittersweet reminder of what once was.

We went from talking every day to sending occasional birthday wishes on social media. I watched her grow through the lens of social media—her wins, her relationships, her professional achievements, everything. I loved it for her, but I found myself disturbed by unanswered questions. Why did we drift apart? What went wrong? Was it something I said or did?

These uncertainties gnawed at my heart and left me yearning for closure. I realized that reconnecting with my best friend was the only way to put these questions to rest. Reaching out to someone after years of silence takes courage. I was nervous about how she would respond, if at all. Would she be open to reconnecting, or had she forgotten about me?

One day, I took a leap of faith and reached out to Rachel on social media. Our initial conversation was awkward, filled with small talk and lingering questions of, “What went wrong?” However, as we continued to chat, the ice began to thaw and we talked for hours, laughed, and shared memories. The familiarity rushed back, and it was a feeling of pure joy.

That conversation was therapeutic and provided the closure I had longed for. In the course of our conversation, I realized nothing really went wrong; we just got busy and settled on the assumption that we were okay apart. Life had taken us on different paths, and neither of us was to blame.

Sometimes friendships naturally evolve, and that’s okay. We may not be the same people we were in our youth, but our friendship had left an indelible mark on both of us. The connection we once shared is still there, but we are now two different individuals. Reconnecting with Rachel wasn’t just about finding closure for me; it was also about rekindling a precious friendship.

We decided to make an effort to stay in touch, even if it meant occasional phone calls or visits. Our rekindled friendship may not be the same as it once was, but it’s a beautiful reminder of the love and connection we shared. If you find yourself longing for closure with a lost friend, consider taking the first step to reconnect. You might be pleasantly surprised by the healing and growth that can result from it.

I hope my story encourages you to reach out.

If you enjoyed reading any of our articles, please clap as many times as possible as it makes the post more visible to those who may like it or learn from it. You can also follow us, share, and leave a comment. We’re on Twitter and would love to interact with you!

--

--