Raegan Moya-Jones, Founder of aden + anais, on What It Really Takes to Succeed as an Entrepreneur

“I absolutely believe that it’s not how much you know, but how hard you’re willing to work to make your dream happen.”

Sandra Y. Lee
AnytownUSA
6 min readFeb 22, 2019

--

by Raegan Moya-Jones

Photo courtesy of Raegan Moya-Jones

Powerhouse entrepreneur Raegan Moya-Jones, friend of AnytownUSA and founder and former CEO of aden + anais, a global lifestyle brand for babies, is the author of What It Takes: How I Built a $100 Million Business Against the Odds. Her new book, coming out in the spring of 2019, is a brutally honest, gutsy memoir/business guide for entrepreneurs with a dream. Here, Raegan shares her inspiring story and her favorites finds on anytownusa.com!

In 2004 I had an idea — one that could possibly change my family’s financial future. I’d had dozens of them over the years, but it wasn’t until I was visiting a friend after the birth of her child that the idea came to me. We’re both Australian, and we were lamenting the fact that it was difficult to find Australian-style muslin baby blankets here in the U.S. We had resorted to asking family members to ship a few of the blankets overseas for us. As I sat there in my friend’s nursery watching my new baby girl do tummy time on her muslin blanket, I thought to myself that it couldn’t be that hard to make muslin blankets and better still, add beautiful designs to them as all I had seen at that point were white ones.

Well, in one sense I was right; it wasn’t necessarily hard, but it took a lot of resolve. While the idea was important, it was only one moment in the journey of what would become the company we later named aden + anais, now a $100 million global baby brand. The inspiration was there, but it was our work ethic and refusal to give up that would get us to $1 million in revenue, then to $15 million, then to $55 million, and beyond. Without grit and determination, we would have given up long before we made our first dollar.

I didn’t find my manufacturer until nearly two years after we had the initial idea. If I hadn’t been willing to stick with it and keep trying, aden + anais would never have existed.

Oh, and did I mention I did all this over the course of having four babies? Needless to say, there were plenty of moments where giving up or giving into exhaustion sounded like a relief. But my work ethic and my dream motivated me to keep going, even in the toughest of times.

“I’ve come to believe that if I can do it, anyone can.”

Even when we had our successful moments, we never let up. When the celebrity press started showing well-known people like Adam Sandler, Beyoncé, and Gwen Stefani using aden + anais blankets to cover their children, sales went through the roof. Our brand recognition did too. But we never sat back and relaxed with the idea that we’d made it. We worked harder than ever to take advantage of the press and the word-of-mouth that came from the multitude of “average” happy mothers like me.

Today, I’m no longer with aden + anais and have moved on to new USA-made ventures! I’m excited to be working on the creation of Saint Luna, a premium moonshine brand. We called on the same work ethic to perfect the recipe, to find the right US-based manufacturer, and to begin distribution in the US — and soon in other countries, as well.

I’ve come to believe that if I can do it, anyone can. The success of an idea is directly related to how hard you’re willing to work to make it successful. I absolutely believe that it’s not how much you know, but how hard you’re willing to work to make your dream happen.

All work and no play is no fun for hard-working moms! Here are some of Raegan’s American-made picks from anytownusa.com for pampering herself!

Love these for when I (finally) take a long, peaceful bath!

Artisan All-Natural Bath Set Wooden gift box includes Lavender Dead Sea Salt Scrub, Hand & Lip Balm, and 4 Artisan Handcrafted Soaps of your choice. Only natural ingredients and all natural colorants, no preservatives, no chemicals, and no parabens. From MION Artisan Soap, $59*. Free shipping. Handmade in USA of imported material.

Diva Towel Wrap Lightweight 100% cotton. Perfect for when blow drying your hair post-shower or picking out your outfit. Embellished with a purple daisy. From Dry Divas, $50*. Handmade in USA of imported material.

Lavender Linen Spray Freshen linens or spray in your room to create a long-lasting, relaxing scent. Lavender grown and distilled in Webster, KY. From Storyteller, $22*. Handmade in USA.

Writing is a lost art! I have a new book in the works. These beautiful items inspire me and prevent writer’s block.

Gold filigree twist ballpoint pen Handcrafted in Greenfield, NH, from olive wood. Replaceable with a cross style ink cartridge. From Firehouse Pens, $75*. Free shipping. Handmade in USA.

Resolve Small Notebook Leather cover with foil-stamped “resolve” wraps a small Moleskine® notebook (included). Comes with interior pockets and secured with an elastic band. Notebook slides out easily to be replaced when full. From Lost & Bound BookArts, $50*. Handmade in USA.

I love to wear and wrap myself up in these as I chase deals and my four girls across NYC!

Angelrox Cardigan Elegant and cozy with deep pockets. Wear it long, upside down, for a fun shift in proportions or inside out for smoother lines. Made from bamboo and other sustainable, plant-based fibers. One size fits most. From Angelrox, $158*. Handmade in USA of imported material.

Fireworks Geometric Earrings Multicolor gemstone earrings made of sterling silver, 14k gold plating, and topazes. From ornatem, $165*. Handmade in USA.

Mallow-motif Silk Scarf 100% habotai silk, hand-dyed with botanicals and printed with water-based fabric inks (safe to wash). From Handmade by Mallorey, $45*. Handmade in USA of U.S. and imported material.

Packing this for my next trip home to Australia!

V-neck Bell-sleeve Tunic Crochet ivory-color tunic with A-line silhouette. From Elif for Jordan Taylor, $80*. Free shipping. Made in USA of U.S. and imported material.

*All prices listed are before shipping and taxes.

Don’t forget to check out our fun, informative podcast, The American Made Marketplace! Our latest episode is “American Beauty.” Listen on iTunes, SoundCloud, Spotify, or Google Play, where you can also download past episodes and subscribe for free to hear future ones.

--

--

Sandra Y. Lee
AnytownUSA

Chief Storyteller of AnytownUSA * Content Creator * People Observer * Label Reader