Data Detox 1: Google Yourself

Angelina Occhiuzzo
aocchiuzzo
Published in
1 min readMar 13, 2019

The purpose of the first day of the data detox journal was to search for yourself after having logged out of all social media and email accounts and after deleting browsing history. The idea was to see what people would find if they searched your name. When I did this what popped up under images were pictures that were submitted to the FBI and that were on the news of myself from when I ran away back in 2014. I found this to be pretty interesting because all of the photos that were of myself were from that event. Another part of this activity was to search ourselves on The Wayback Machine to see what would come up, but when I searched my name there were zero results. This part was the most interesting to me because I figured there would be more people with my name, but after this search it makes me think there were none.

This helped me understand how much of an influence our social media has on our Google searches and how everything you have every searched or looked up is saved forever. It made me more aware of clearing my browsing history more often and it helped me learn how I can delete certain images that pop up when my name is searched which is very helpful.

--

--