Data Detox 5: Detox Your Phone

Angelina Occhiuzzo
aocchiuzzo
Published in
1 min readMar 19, 2019

For data detox day five, it was all about detoxifying your smartphone. I was asked to change my phone name to something other than my actual name to help with privacy, and I was glad this was brought to my attention. I always tend to forget how much data I am using on my phone and how much of my information is out there online for everyone to see. Next, I was asked to clean up my mobile browsing on my phone. For this one they had me clear my complete history and website data for my phone, which was pretty satisfying to do actually. I already knew how to use the privacy mode on my phone, and I tend to use it often, but I think I will use it more now after doing this detox. I was also asked to look at my significant locations and see what places were recorded and think about why they were and see how often I have gone there. My most frequent place was Woodbridge, VA which makes sense because that is where I live, but for some of the other locations I was confused about why they were saved. The last thing I was asked to do was look at my location services and manage the location access on all of my apps. It felt really good to go through each app and turn off the location services, and it made me realize which ones I did not need at all.

--

--