Extra Credit

Angelina Occhiuzzo
aocchiuzzo
Published in
2 min readApr 17, 2019

For this extra credit assignment, I chose three different alternative apps to use on my phone for a week and I chose to use DuckDuckGo, 1Password, and Evernote. DuckDuckGo is a private alternative for safari or google. This browser is very similar to the privacy version of safari, but in this app, you are not being tracked. I was a little nervous about switching my browser from safari to DuckDuckGo, but it was actually very similar and easy to use, and I actually started to prefer it over Safari. It was a nice feeling to also know that nothing I was searching was being tracked even when I searched for normal things, it made me feel safer.

DuckDuckGo

The second app I chose was 1Password, and I have actually used this app in the past. It is essentially a password protected app where you can log and store all your passwords without worrying about people seeing them. Before I started using this app, I just kept my passwords in my note’s app on my phone, which isn’t the best option. After switching over to 1Password I felt like my information was so much more protected and I definitely see myself using this app from now on.

For my last app, I chose Evernote, which is a notes app but has so much more than the regular notes app on my phone. In Evernote, you can not only write notes, but you can also have audio notes, pictures, and set up reminders. I found this very helpful for when I’m on the go and need to make a quick note but can’t type. However, I do like the simplicity of the regular note’s app on my phone, all the options on Evernote made it feel like more of an obstacle to just jot something down really quick. One thing I did notice for both Evernote and 1Password is that you can either download the free version or pay a certain amount a month to get the full use of it. I disliked this because I felt like I wasn’t getting the best version since I was not paying for the app and it made me reluctant to even download it in the first place. I do see myself using DuckDuckGo in the future, but after this week, I do not see myself ever using 1Password or Evernote again.

--

--