Handbook for Becoming an Astronomer Champion for Apache Airflow šŸ†

My Apache Airflow Journey

Raviteja Tholupunoori
Apache Airflow
4 min readJul 15, 2024

--

Back in 2019, I started working on a project to build a customer data platform (CDP) for a client. This involved processing massive amounts of data through various microservices. Initially, we used Talend, an ETL tool, but managing it became cumbersome. Even minor changes to the pipeline or data schema required rebuilding and redeploying the entire Talend job.

This led me to explore alternatives, and thatā€™s when I came across Apache Airflow. I dug into how it worked and became convinced that it was a better solution for our needs. I presented my findings to my team, and they agreed. Thatā€™s how my journey with Airflow began!

Using Airflow I have built Cloud Agnostic Solutions and deployed it in Azure Kubernetes Service and Google kubernetes Engine(Both in Standard and Auto Pilot Clusters)and currently working on AWS . While doing i got very good exposure to Airflow and also to its Infrastructure needed for different components.

Airflow Fundamentals Certification

With all the knowledge that i have gained over 4ā€“5 years i was able to directly crack Airflow Fundamentals Certification

Learning Path: https://academy.astronomer.io/path/airflow-101

Certificate: https://www.credly.com/badges/cd274021-dae6-4d88-a954-142270d6b231/public_url

My Contribution to Airflow Community

I have started helping different Teams within my organisation and even in other open source platforms with troubleshooting airflow issues and proposing workflow enhancements, fostering a collaborative and efficient environment. This helped to gain more Knowledge and solve different usecases.

Airflow Championā€™s Journey

I came accross Astronomerā€™s Champions for Apache Airflow while exploring my certificate in Credly and i have applied to the program. All the work (above mentioned) helped me to apply directly without any extra efforts.

Post applying my application was reviewed by Astronomerā€™s team and i was selected as Champion.

Confirmation Mail

Certificate and Badge

Certificate : https://www.credly.com/badges/f31d1c0d-cb76-44a0-82fa-c24cfbd8e5aa/public_url

Linked in Post by Astronomer

Astronomer Champions Announcement

I was added to official Slack Channel of Airflow, was included in Airflow townhalls and Recieved Airflow SWAG today. Going forward iā€™ll utilise other benefits provided though this program.

How to Apply to Astronomer Airflow Champions:

Champions are community leaders who dedicate their time and expertise to enhancing the understanding and awareness of the Airflow product and mission. Below is the application Link and Pre-requisites for applying for the Program.

About the Program ā€” Itā€™s an initiative dedicated to fostering passionate advocates of Apache Airflow. This program is designed to empower and elevate the knowledge, influence, and leadership of its committed members who champion the cause of Apache AirflowĀ® technology.

Astronomer Championā€™s Program ā€” https://www.astronomer.io/champions/

Application Link ā€” Application Form

Pre requisites

Once your application is reviewed and selected for a cohort youā€™ll recieve a mail and you can start your chamipion journey.

What it means to be Champion

Benefits:

As a member, youā€™ll enjoy a variety of exclusive benefits, including complimentary certifications, access to Airflow contributors, beta access to new features, academy courses, and certificationsā€¦ and of course, swag

Feel free to reach out to me on LinkedIn if you have any questions or want to learn more about the program! šŸ˜Š

--

--