Augmented Reality(AR) iOS App Development

Reena Koudi
Apex Air
Published in
2 min readMay 7, 2018

For our final project at Makers Academy, our team came up with an idea to create an Augmented Reality App for detecting the air pollution level. The basic idea was to learn a new language and the new technology which motivated us to explore on our Day 1 to see if Android Studio or Xcode , which would be more suitable to develop an Augmented Reality App.

Since Cindy and I are loyal users of Android Phone, we worked on Android Studio to develop a demo Android App. Noelle and Somayeh being iOS users worked on Xcode to develop the demo iOS app. Turned out Xcode has ARKit which blends digital objects and information with the environment around you, taking apps far beyond the screen and freeing them to interact with the real world in entirely new ways.

Day 2 , I was super excited to do more exploration on ARKit in Xcode and started to build my first AR App in Xcode which pretty much looked like this.

My first Augmented Reality Fighter Jet 😀

I was super happy with my first AR demo app and went on to replace it with a 3D Globe, for which I basically update the View Controller file in my project to display a Globe.

3D Globe in Augmented Reality App

As we progressed to Day 3 we had a better idea about our MVP and sound knowledge about the ARKit in Xcode. As we follow Test driven Development(TDD) at Makers , Day 3 was more about figuring out the Unit testing and UI testing in Xcode. After a bit of research found out that Xcode has a built in testing framework called XCTest. I found a very useful blog on FizzBuzz testing in Xcode and went on to build a FizzBuzz game for iOS to practice TDD in Swift.

Going through the blog above helped me to understand the basics of XCTest framework. Our MVP included having AR iOS App which could detect the air pollution level at a given GPS coordinates. Basically we planned to have fun element introduced into our App by adding different emoji to display different level of pollutions. I shall keep you posted about the progress of our project in my upcoming blogs.

--

--