20 Life Changing Quotes from Rumi

Parviz Haqshanas
Apex Perspectives
Published in
2 min readMay 5, 2024

Rumi is a great poem and a famous figure in the world, especially in the Middle East community. In this article, I have gathered some of his best quotes that I feel you need to know after reading this article your life is separated into 2 parts, before reading this story and after that. Please read all of them thoughtfully because they are significant and vital to you:

  1. “Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere. They’re in each other all along.”
  2. “Raise your words, not voice. It is rain that grows flowers, not thunder.”
  3. “You are not a drop in the ocean. You are the entire ocean, in a drop.”
  4. “Your depression is connected to your insolence and refusal to praise.”
  5. “Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself.”
  6. “Set your life on fire. Seek those who fan your flames.”
  7. “The wound is the place where the light enters you.”
  8. “I am not this hair, I am not this skin, I am the soul that lives within.”
  9. “Don’t you know yet? It is your light that lights the world.”
  10. “As you start to walk on the way, the way appears.”
  11. “The only lasting beauty is the beauty of the heart.”
  12. “Patience is the key to joy.”
  13. “You were born with wings. Why prefer to crawl through life?”
  14. “The world is a mountain, in which your words are echoed back to you.”
  15. “Poetry can be dangerous, especially beautiful poetry because it gives the illusion of having had the experience without actually going through it.”
  16. “Do not feel lonely, the entire universe is inside you.”
  17. “Goodbyes are only for those who love with their eyes. Because for those who love with heart and soul there is no such thing as separation.”
  18. “Live life as if everything is rigged in your favour.”
  19. “Sell your cleverness and buy bewilderment. Cleverness is mere opinion. Bewilderment brings intuitive knowledge.”
  20. “Wherever you stand, be the soul of that place.

Check out my articles for more interesting reads on different topics!

--

--

Parviz Haqshanas
Apex Perspectives

Passionate writer sharing stories from various topics and my experiences and enthusiastic in reading.