The Tale of The King and Prime Minister: Power of Mindset

Parviz Haqshanas
Apex Perspectives
Published in
3 min readMay 7, 2024
Photo by Paweł Furman on Unsplash
"Please take a moment to engage with this piece genuinely, 
as I aim to reward readers who do so.
Kindly consider the following actions:

- Give 50 claps to show your appreciation.
- Highlight 3-6 key points or passages that resonate with you.
- Leave a comment sharing your insights or reflections.

Later, I'll review the recent activity to acknowledge your engagement.

Thank you for your participation!"

A king wanted to choose his prime minister, so he choose three of the top individuals in that area, he went to a room with them and said:

Until you solve that problem, you will not be able to open the lock. If you can solve the problem, you can open the door. Everyone that comes out first, I will choose him to be the prime minister.”

The king left and closed the door. Three of the four men immediately began to work. Numbers were written on the lock. They wrote down the numbers and started working with them. The fourth man just sat in a corner!

The three men thought he was crazy.

He sat in a corner with his eyes closed and did nothing. After a while, he got up, went to the door, pushed the door, it opened, and he went out!

And the three continued to work without noticing that the fourth person had left the room!

When the king returned to the room with this person, he said, “Stop! The test is over, and I have chosen my prime minister.”

They couldn’t believe it and asked, “What happened? He didn’t do anything; he just sat in the corner. How could he solve the problem?”

The man said, “There was no problem. I just sat down, and the first question that came to my mind was whether the door was locked or not. The moment I felt this, I became completely silent and said to myself, Where do I start?

The first thing any intelligent person will ask is whether there is a problem and how to solve it. If you try to solve it, you will go into infinite regression. You will never manage to solve it. So I just went to see if the door was locked, and I saw that the lock was open.”

The king said, “Yes, that was the trick. There was no lock on the door. The lock was open. I was waiting for one of you to ask the real question and start solving it, but you did not get the point. Even if you had worked on it all your life, you couldn’t have solved it. This man knows how to be alert in a situation. He asked the right question.”

Explore my articles for captivating reads on various subjects!

--

--

Parviz Haqshanas
Apex Perspectives

Passionate writer sharing stories from various topics and my experiences and enthusiastic in reading.