API is the blessing of the economy in the software industry

Kirsi Virta
APInf
Published in
4 min readJul 24, 2017

We define ourselves by our communities: tribe, family, work, clubs, schools, churches and temples, these are who we are. We are born into community, and if we’re lucky we’ll end our days surrounded by it.

— Jono Bacon ( The Art of Community ) .

That is the main sentence for me in life. We can feel lonely sometimes, but actually we have 7,5 billion people and it is our responsibility to make all feel welcome to this common universe. If you can’t fit yourself in the world, let the world to be fit for you. This is what I’ve been thinking a lot last years and this is my way of life, not just my job.

I believe communities in many different levels. I have made research and my main interest is in communities in many levels. I am also finishing my master these on researching this. My main ‘loving ones’ are graffiti, rap music, skateboarding and hackers. In addition to studying, I have also been growing and living in these groups and I have seen that it is not about money, ego or selfish way of living. It is all about being part of community and sharing things. You are always welcome, people are friendly and smiling and we are all equal. So I believe communities behind the money. This is a big part of our population. There are lot of talented people who has “know-how- knowledge”. So when I was thinking about internship place, I wanted to enjoy something bigger. Something which has nothing to do with politics, religions or anything unfocused. Something what can bring us all together and where we can all be in the same place. That is when I focused my intention to Apitalists, APIOps and APInf Oy.

It was Friday evening when I asked for internship possibilities from APInf Oy. My interview was on a Monday and I started immediately on Tuesday. Everything happened smoothly, fast and in a well organized way I like most. Life can be such a chaos sometimes so I think the most important thing is to know about how to organize your life in the way that all your energy is going to be used for something good . You can multi task then lot of things. I have learned it in my everyday life, but honestly, I have to confess that it took a while.

I started studying in University of Lapland at 2011. My major subject is Audiovisual Media Culture and minor subjects are Design Management, Service Design and Marketing. When I started in the university, I was surprised how much the professors were talking about service design and its meaning for our working careers and businesses. Now I understand it better after studying more. When you have artistic personality and creative mind, it gives a lot of possibilities for solutions of problems and supports your marketing skills.

Besides studying and organizing own skills, I think its important also to know the world we are living. You have to know target groups well and itś better if you know different kinds of people. Different ages, background and nationalities, opinions and approaches towards life. We all are human beings, but our behaving can be totally different because of our history and backgrounds. I also feel myself that we are all equal. I also know that people can feel themselves lonely or unhappy. I get it. I’ve been there too.

It is said that there are two main important days in people's life. One is the day you are born and other is the day you figure out why. I agree. We are here for some reason and it is our job to figure out our main mission. For me it is to help people to get their life easier and saving energy for work, relationship, children, hobbies, traveling, etc. That is why we are all going to need good marketing also. We have to create best business for those companies which have the greatest values or in this case, value chains. Like it is said in our slogan : Develop - we do the rest.

Actually, that is all we need. APInf Oy is building a bridge between API owners and API consumers. We have a team which contains good players in different specialization and we are an international team. I think it is an honor to work with this awesome team and I really think this is going to be global and huge in future. This is a place where we can all be at the same time through using same applications. Between the last generation and the next generation, we are middle ones. We take lessons from last generations on skills, mistakes and success and then have a conversation with all. This is something which has real value and we all are going to need it. There is also one thing what we just are going to need to make the world better place: strong analytical problem solving skills. And maybe some luck and love, too.

--

--