How to Explain to a 2 half-years-old Kid what a Promise is in JavaScript

Let’s avoid that he repeatedly asks: what is a promise, Dad?

Roberto Hernandez
Better Code & Life

--

Dad working with Son: What is a promise, Dad?

In December 2019, during holiday time, I traveled to Los Angeles, I didn't go on vacation. I spent my time there working remotely. I was so lucky to do that kind of stuff thanks to my current company. Check it out

So, one day my two-half-years-old Son, while I was working remotely, he asked me. Dad, what is a surprise? and I told him, Let’s see my little friend; a surprise is something that you don't know yet now but you will know at some moment some seconds later he asked me again, dad what a surprise is? and I answered him again, again and again until I finally said to him. Imagine your aunt “Chayo” has something in El Salvador, your country, which is waiting for you, is a gift for you but you don't know what that gift is, for now. You will see what that something is about until you come back and finally your aunt “Chayo” brings it to you.

So, after he was incessantly asking again the same question I though. how I could explain to him what a promise is in JavaScript. I had two problems, first I needed to explain what I do (What a programmer does) and the second problem was to explain what that hell a promise is in JavaScript.

Hard definition of…

--

--

Roberto Hernandez
Better Code & Life

Founder thetopoffensive.com, undebtme.co, mullinstack.com I will teach you about, Programming, Self, Productivity, & Personal Finances.