The Matrix, Neo, & Faith

A special truth for innovators, entrepreneurs, and pioneers about how it’s going to begin.

D.J. Soto
Apostle 2.0
3 min readJul 24, 2016

--

“No.” — Neo

The Matrix is one of my favorite movies of all time. Currently, Inception has the #1 spot, but The Matrix held that prestigious title for several years.

It’s not just about the action. It’s also about the philosophy and themes that prevail throughout the film.

One of my favorites quotes is at the end of the first movie. Neo has just rescued Morpheus and defeated Agent Smith. In the final moments of the film, Neo is talking to those trapped inside the Matrix. He has a special message for them that I would like to connect with you who are innovators, entrepreneurs, pioneers, or for anyone that has taken a big step of faith in their life.

I know you’re out there. I can feel you now. I know that you’re afraid… you’re afraid of us. You’re afraid of change. I don’t know the future. I didn’t come here to tell you how this is going to end. I came here to tell you how it’s going to begin. I’m going to hang up this phone, and then I’m going to show these people what you don’t want them to see. I’m going to show them a world without you. A world without rules and controls, without borders or boundaries. A world where anything is possible. Where we go from there is a choice I leave to you. — NEO

I love it.

I’d like to do the same for you. I don’t know how “it’s” going to end for you, but I’d like to tell you how “it’s” going to begin.

“It’s” can be defined differently for each of us…

  • You moved to a new place where you don’t know a single person.
  • You left your job to start a new business.
  • You challenged injustice.
  • You pioneered a new path.
  • You started something new with no support.
  • You “enter-here-what-crazy-thing-you-did”.

Maybe the new business will succeed. Maybe it will fail. Maybe life is harder in your new location. You started a new path but you have been met with resistance from the beginning.

Even though I don’t know how it’s going to end. I’d like to tell you that it’s going to begin with courage, confidence, and character.

  • Courage
    Courage is defined as the ability to do something that frightens one, strength in the face of pain and grief. You are frightened for sure. You are facing pain and grief. Despite all this, you have a personal vision to rise to a new level. Therefore, you have the courage to continue on.
  • Confidence
    Confidence is defined as a feeling of self-assurance arising from one’s appreciation of one’s own abilities or qualities. I’m not advocating being arrogant or faithless. However, God has given you special abilities. You were cut from a different cloth. You think differently. You challenge systems. You need to start believing in yourself, because God believes in you.
  • Character
    Character is defined as the mental and moral qualities distinctive to an individual. If there is one thing you never want to lose, it’s your character. Courage might fail. Confidence may wane. But never let your character shrink in adversity. Stand firm in integrity. Take the high road.

I’m sorry. I wish I could tell you how it’s going to end. I wish I could tell you that your new business, new location, new job, and new ministry will be successful. It might. It might not.

However, I am here to tell you that it’s going to begin with courage, confidence, and character.

Will you join me?

--

--