The Fortune Teller | Susannah Stewart

The Child’s Wonderland

The stories entrance her

Susannah MacKinnie
Appalachian Tales and Trails
2 min readSep 20, 2020

--

A child gazes entranced at the fairy tale figures rising from the pages of a book.
Image by Stefan Keller from Pixabay modified by the author on Canva and Prisma

The only words that ever satisfied me as describing nature are the terms used in fairy books, charm, spell, enchantment; they express the arbitrariness of the fact and its mystery.
Gilbert K. Chesterton

What did I learn in fairy tales?

Show Kindness.
Share your food.
Lend a hand.
Do no harm.

Be Clever.
Use your wits.
Tell no lies.
Do not cheat.

Have Courage.
Face your fear.
Fight evil.
Do not be cruel.

Be Worthy.
Strive for goodness.
Learn patience.
Persevere and persist.

Be the hero of your story.

My enemies had attacked me when I tried to reach the girl in a trance. This time I tried both newer and older ways to learn

--

--