1 Year 100 Reviews — Moana

Bryson Roberts
Applaudience
Published in
4 min readJan 16, 2017
The promotional work lies! The pig is hardly in this movie.

It is pretty hard to pin down what exactly makes a Disney movie a Disney movie. Sure, you can say tautological things like “Well, it is produced by Disney studios, duh”, but snarky response doesn’t help me. What I am trying to pin down exactly is what goes into a movie that gives it that charm, that Disney magic that captures the imagination of kids and adults alike and showcases the absolute best that animation has to offer. It is far stronger than nostalgia, whatever it is.

I wonder if there is some sort of secret recipe to these movies that makes them so great. Many Disney movies lack that timeless power — Bolt, Home on the Range, The Rescuers. None of this is to say these movies are bad, but they are nowhere near the caliber of Sleeping Beauty, Aladdin, or Frozen.

Whatever elements incorporate that magic Disney formula, Moana has it in spades.

I think this calls for a little context here. I was never blown away by Frozen or Tangled. Honestly, I thought Frozen was overrated. It was a great movie; but people were calling it the best Disney movie since Beauty and the Beast, which is far too high of praise. Frozen had a couple problems that really held it back from being top-tier Disney animation.

So, when I say that Moana is the best Disney movie in years and possibly belongs among the ranks of their best films, you should wholly grasp the full intent of my meaning.

This is where I get so frustrated, because I do not even know what else to say about this movie! Usually, I would talk about what works and what doesn’t and what I liked and what I disliked. But, the stuff that works is the stuff that works in every Disney movie or is stuff I do not want to spoil for the uninitiated. As for the bad, I am not entirely sure there is anything “wrong” with this movie. It is a dang-near perfect execution of what Disney movies should be! The worst thing I could say is that the movie gets a little paint-by-numbers toward the end of the second act in a way that feels like forced obligation. However, I doubt most anyone else will feel that way and it hardly affected my enjoyment of what I was watching in any way.

Okay, so I am going to be kind of spoiler-y about the stuff I like in this movie, so those who saw it should continue reading and the rest of you should bail out now and just go see it.

(Seriously, try to go into this movie with as little knowledge beforehand; it will make it that much better.)

This movie is a perfect portrait of Disney creativity and imagination. From the fact that the ocean is a pseudo character itself to how the tattoos on Maui work were completely surprising and beautifully realized. It is very reminiscent of the kind of outside-the-box thinking that led to the servants in Beauty and the Beast and the Genie from Aladdin. It also paves the way for some of the movie’s best jokes, and I laughed out loud a lot throughout this whole movie.

The voice cast was all fantastic, as usual. Dwayne Johnson surprised me because I totally forgot he actually knows how to sing. The monster played by Jemaine Clement was the best part of the whole movie. I could drone on for hours about how insanely awesome that whole scene was, but do not have the fortitude to do so right here. You are welcome. “Shiny” is going to be in my top ten favorite villain songs.

Speaking of the music, I am totally in love with the music in this movie! Aside from “Let It Go”, I was not crazy about any of the songs from Frozen. But, man, do I want a copy of the Moana soundtrack! I guess I need to go give Hamilton another shot because Lin-Manuel Miranda is an awesome lyricist and songwriter. I hope he comes back for future Disney projects, because he did such an amazing job with this movie.

One moral of the story that is thankfully absent is the whole “girls are just as good as boys” shtick that many kids movies with female protagonists have. The fact that Moana is a girl never gets brought up. I really like that Disney is starting to trust that audiences won’t be upset by another one of these movies starring an empowered female. The only time her competence is questioned is when Maui accuses her of being a mortal. Gender is never an issue and Moana never calls attention to that fact.

It should go without saying, but the animation is some of the best Disney has ever produced. The environments are getting that much closer to photo-realism, the water is animated gorgeously, and the action is thrilling.

Basically, Moana is everything one could ever want from a Disney animated movie. The heart, magic, charm, and beauty that are hallmarks of the studio’s pedigree are in full force throughout. If you can, go see this movie as soon as possible; it is worth the price of admission.

A

--

--