A Plea to Help Others Remain Spoiler Free

Justin McMurdie
Applaudience
Published in
2 min readDec 13, 2015
Official Movie Poster for Star Wars the Force Awakens

If you know me at all you know that I am a Star Wars fan. I grew up watching Episodes 4, 5, and 6 over and over. In elementary school star wars captured my imagination and I read every star wars book my small town public school library had. I have mountains of head-cannon that I’ve had to wash away preparatory to the launch of the new Star Wars film. Needless to say I am excited.

My request is a simple one. There are many people like me that are really excited for the new movie. Some have the means to see it early, others do not. If you are going to post, talk, share, etc about the new movie please mark anything that contains spoilers (even light ones) as such. Let people watch the movie unspoiled if they choose. Especially during the opening few weeks of the movie. I’m not aware of a standard period where spoilers should be marked but I’m sure it’s at least 2 weeks long.

The movie may not have any major plot twists, but that doesn’t mean it’s okay to spoil. Spoilers are a serious business, the star wars subreddit is issuing permanent bans for any unmarked spoilers. “Every TFA spoiler, real or fake, malicious or joking, will be met with a permanent subreddit ban.” — via reddit.com/r/starwars

Do me and countless others a favor: Remember to give people fair warning when discussing the plot for new movies, books, etc. A spoiler tag is pretty easy to add.

--

--