An Open Letter to Emilia Clarke

The white light of Hollywood

Calvin Parshad
Applaudience
Published in
3 min readOct 24, 2016

--

Most probably know you as the mother of dragons — an icon of the international GoT sensation. Well, I can’t say I know that side of you because, quite frankly, I have yet to watch the show (don’t hate me world).

But, I do know you…

Halfway over the Atlantic, about 15 minutes post-melatonin consumption, I’m drearily swiping through flight movies, as my mates kick and scream in excitement over watching Deadpool for a third time.

“Hey bro, let’s all watch Deadpool at the same exact time!”

“No, I’m good”

“Well then, you gonna watch X-Men Apocalypse?!”

“Na…kinda in the mood for something more…chill”

Right then, that’s when I saw you. A glimpse of what would become an unpredictable love affliction in the highest form of admiration and appreciation.

“Me Before You”. I click (naturally after a few furtive glances). Somewhat expecting a Nicholas Sparks plot, I initiated the classic guy-watching-a-chick-flick facade: emotionally indifferent.

Thirty minutes in, I found myself fully captivated by the immense depth of your character. A young lady who without a single complaint works tirelessly to support her family, smiling through her work, even if it meant putting off her dreams of becoming a fashionista. A woman who’s empathy became her strongest weapon.

And, in the end, it was Louisa’s brilliant tenacity that injected new life and love into someone who had accepted that all hope was lost.

Now, you can probably imagine I didn’t fare too well with all the jokes from my buddies when they caught me with a waterfall on my face by the end.

Yet, nonetheless, most of our trip through Italy ended up with me imposing videos of your Graham Norton interviews, rendition of “I am a traveling creature”, what you would tell your 18 year old self, etc. onto to all my friends (I know…a bit creepy).

Then, finally, I heard it: “Calvin, you have a celebrity crush. We’ve all been there. Get over yourself.”

I was reluctant to accept it. I’ve never actually had a “celebrity crush” before. It was then that I realized it was way more than that.

What I have for you is the utmost gratitude. A gratitude that we, as an audience, can have the opportunity to watch a true artist evolve her art form without putting on the mask of “celebrity”. We get to be a part of your journey.

You’re like a breath of fresh air and Febreeze all in one. You tell it how it is, and you don’t apologize for it. You present such elegant humility, while also commanding a room with your electrifying smile. There’s not a moment when you try to hide your magnificently quirky humor. And I so love you for that.

But, most importantly, you are true to yourself, both on and off the screen. A lover of all things, and a student of your surroundings.

In one of your bits on the Graham Norton show you ask Matt Le Blanc to give you feedback on your performance in GoT when he got around to watching it again. To me, that alone, revealed you are a master of your craft.

So, here I am, as a humble man asking you for only one thing:

Just keep being you, Emilia Isabelle Euphemia Rose Clarke. Like Will Traynor, we should all be so lucky as to find someone as special as you.

Yours Truly,

Calvin

--

--