Day 2 — A Spoonful of Sugar Helps the Medicine Go Down

From My Closet/Life
Applaudience
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2017
FROM MY CLOSET Day 2

Day 2: Mary Poppins

I grew up singing “Chim Chim Cher-ee” and “A Spoonful of Sugar” and Julie Andrews’ Mary Poppins has always been one of my all-time favorite characters. It’s also a name that I get called by a lot because of my famous bag, which has everything I might think of needing (phone charger, nail filer, pencil case, playing cards, extension chords, speaker, a sewing kit… basically anything).

But being always ready for everything and carrying an all-encompassing bag isn’t everything there is to Mary.

Went Back to University Today… in Costume

I’m usually never with doing something just because I have to but sometimes there are some things you cannot escape. So a spoonful of sugar could come in handy.

I think what could really help with doing something you hate is to make it somewhat fun by adding your personal touch. I once had a group project with a friend and we had to talk about a business and the flow of work at the company. As English majors, that was the lamest thing we could do. It was a toll to choose a company and prepare an engaging presentation. My friend and I ended up wearing gift-wrapping paper and handing out chocolate after choosing to talk about a chocolate factory.

Adding sugar (or chocolate) to something could not always be easy but most of the time it’s worth giving it a try; it makes things tastier and relates it more to you and who you are.

Wearing a costume everyday to new places is really fun if you think about it, especially when someone tries to say supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

--

--

From My Closet/Life
Applaudience

Be real, be you. Spent every day in a costume, for a year, to fight stereotypes and encourage individuality. Fb: From My Closet - Twitter/IG/Snapchat: @EligeAY