Nepali Movies

Kushal Pokharel
Applaudience
Published in
2 min readOct 18, 2015

Evolution is a process, an intended, purposeful process. Every evolution happens as for a cause or an effect of something. Movies are a lot about the society. A society we live in and have life engaged with it. Movies are a lot for the society.

It is difficult to have the native perception of society we are on a visit. Even if we have that is so much of a foreign tone. We do not live in as a tourist, we have to make something of our own home.

To have the Nepali movie community moving on, growing and evolving towards better I believe it should initially be the society that should be moving on, growing and evolving towards better. We already know the movies are not evolving for better if they are even evolving significantly. Now just realise how we are just living in the same society, almost similar environment. We have the same problems that our society had for the past years.

Necessity is the catalyst of invention. We have had enough of it and maybe nothing so much of requirement. We needed movies that we could put ourselves into. Our movies could not have us fit in so we tried to fit in the stories of somebody else. Our movies did not allow us the excitement we could dream. Our dreams were hence not for the life in our home but as tourist in foreign lands adapting to making a new home.

(I wanted to write about the Nepali movies for a long time. No such tone got into resonance to excite me. This festival I really wanted to go for a movie. Recently I went to watch Hindi, more so a south Indian Movie, Bahubali with my parent and I enjoyed that experience too. I wanted to go for another one. I waited and looked for a decent movie, there were none. Some Nepali movies and I really did not feel to pay for them.)

--

--