Films ‘Я’ Us

(aka Movies Without Borders)

CJ
Applaudience

--

“Great films should be enjoyed by all regardless of genre.”

This is what I tell anybody that takes offense to the “kinds of movies I watch”. I do not limit myself when it comes to films (or books, or music) just because they may contain “controversial” content that might offend the sensibilities of certain people. I find that one misses out on great stories that might have otherwise had an impact on their life when they do so.

I cannot count the number of times I’ve had to face an inquiry regarding the sort of films I watch, the latest of which occurred while watching The Normal Heart. “Dude this movie is too gay!” “Why the hell are you watching this, are you a fag?” “Guy na fourteen years o!” This for a movie that so eloquently tells an emotional story about a fundamental part of human history. But, sure, notice only the gay aspect!

I introduced some friends to How To Get Away With Murder and they were really into it prior to the Connor/Oliver scene in episode one, at which I had to do extensive damage control. Apparently I was trying to turn them gay. Same thing happened with a friend of mine that broke all his Legend Of Korra CDs when he read online that Korra was gay. This was someone who, prior to that, lived and breathed Korra.

Ok, fine, I live in a majorly homophobic country and I can understand why people would react that way, but then I was watching Birdman (granted I don’t really like the movie and still can’t understand how it beat The Imitation Game for Best Picture, but still the story it tells about having a sense of irrelevance is really well done) and was told off because “this man is a fool! How old is he? Why are you even watching this sef? Guy you’re weird”

“There’s no action.” “It’s just two people floating in space.” “Only special effects.” “This thing is fake.” “Guy the movies you watch are boring”, I was told while watching Gravity, a thrilling survival epic by the guy that did Children Of Men (another inquisition-inducing film).

I watch films that tell compelling stories, no matter the content, and I’m not apologizing for that. Ever!

NB: I’m waiting for someone to comment on the fact that my movie of the month is Eastern Boys (which is gonna happen anytime soon, I’m betting)

--

--

CJ
Applaudience

To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield.