Films Of The Year 2016

Ellen
Applaudience
Published in
2 min readDec 21, 2016

Here is my Films of the Year list. Please note I have no authority when it comes to films, I am neither a tastemaker or a zeitgeist-er, I didn’t get to the cinema as often as I would have liked, and I didn’t see all the worthy movies I should have seen, and since DVD’s are now obsolete, I will put them on my Netflix's list, but instead of watching them I will watch Practical Magic again.

Films of The Year

Childhood of a leader
Hell or High Water
Green Room
Zooptopia
Mustang
Swiss Army Man
Hello My Name is Doris
Dr Strange
The Meddler
Love & Friendship

Films I Cried at The Most

Arrival
BlueJay

Film I Almost Cried at, but Didn’t as it was a Cartoon and There Were Children Sitting Around me Not Crying

Moana

Films That Were Super Rubs/Just The Worst/So Stupid

Snowden (Snoredon more like)
X Men Apocalypse (X Men Snorepocolypse more like)
Batman vs Superman (Batman vs Snoreman more like)
The Girl on the Train (The Girl on the Sleeper Train more like)
Suicide Squad (Snoreicide Squad more like)
Midnight Special (Midnight Snore more like)
Independent Day:Resurgence (Indepsnoredent Snore:Resnoregence… more like)

Films I have Pre-judged as Making me Angry or Sleepy and Will Not See

Paterson (Yawn)
Passengers (Suspect)
Allied (Yawn)
Everybody Wants Some (Suspect)

Films I Saw, Liked but Feel Dirty about and Won’t be Discussing When I am Supping Whisky with My Many Sophisticated Friends

How to be Single
The Shallows
Bridget Jones Diary
The Accountant (despite its fundamental misunderstanding of autism and creepy Batflex/Kendrick pairing)

Films I Saw, Enjoyed at The Time but then Completely Forgot I Saw Until Making This List

Jungle Book
Star Trek Beyond
Miss Perrigine’s School for Weirdo’s
The Hateful Eight

Films I Saw but Did not Enjoy as Much as Everyone Else as I Have No Soul

Hunt for the Wilderpeople
The Witch
The Revenant
Don’t think Twice
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Films I decided to see randomly on a flamboyant whim imagining myself as an art house darling, but then plot turned out to be about French octopus women who impregnated 12 year old boys and I was like…what is this?

Evolution

Horror Film with a Really Troubling Message about depression which Someone Should have Been Like ‘Love the script Barry, but are you sure we want to advocate suicide like this in a horror film?’

Lights Out

--

--