Katie
Applaudience
Published in
3 min readDec 10, 2016

--

On ‘Swing Time’ and blackface

To Stanford Theatre:

As a regular patron and lover of classic movies, I am extremely disappointed with the selection in the Fred Astaire festival. Specifically, I am referring to the decision to show the movie Swing Time, with no discussion or mention of the extended blackface musical number.

I have been fortunate to be exposed to Classic movies and develop a love of black and white film. I was thrilled when I discovered, in 2010, a local theater that played my favorites and allowed me to discover more films to love. Going to Stanford Theatre is a regular date night activity with my fiancé and I. So you can understand our utter horror tonight when, as we watched Swing Time, we realized we were watching a blackface musical scene. We walked out, along with several other couples and families.

Showing a film with a prominent blackface scene is unacceptable. It is especially shocking when it has no context in the film and it appears without warning. I have a strong love of old films and I understand that there are numerous problematic aspects of movies set in a time that seems so backwards and shameful in our modern cultural context. But there were a multitude of ways Stanford Theatre could have dealt with this:

  • Share a message at the beginning of the film. This is something you already do. This would have been a great opportunity to inform the viewers of what blackface is, and how it fit into the cultural context of the day. You could have presented viewers with the opportunity to leave before the scene.
  • Include a message about the use of blackface in the festival program and website. Again, this allows the audience to decide whether or not the movie is suitable for themselves or their families. Remember: young couples and families are likely seeing these films for the first time, and are not expecting such a blatant and shocking scene.
  • Cut the scene out entirely. Depending on the technical aspects of film, there could have been a message stating the removal of that scene. Since we walked out, I do not know how the movie ended, but I assume Fred Astaire as the “Bojangles of Harlem” was not integral to the plot.

To further emphasize my point: the fact that you decided to show a film with a blackface musical scene without a warning or explanation shows a level of time deafness that makes me ashamed that it happened in my home. The choice to do nothing echoes the extreme white privilege of Palo Alto and the surrounding wealthy, white cities. With the tech boom bringing even more people of color the Bay, institutions such as Stanford Theatre have a responsibility to be inclusive.

I love the Stanford Theatre. It is a family-friendly cultural institution where audiences can enjoy incredible cinema unavailable elsewhere. Watching classics teaches the audience about our past (the good and bad) in an immersive experience that can’t be taught from books alone. It is also there to entertain, but entertainment can be marred by experiences such as these. I hope you will acknowledge this serious concern from your patrons and take this as an opportunity to improve.

Thank you,

Katie S.

Message sent in entirety to Stanford Theatre manager.

--

--