Ouch

Akosua
Applaudience
Published in
2 min readJan 8, 2017

“You walk alongside the characters, going through what they go through as they go through it. Their experiences are your experiences. So, it’s almost like it’s real to you.”

“Yes, that’s right. It’s normal, right Doctor?”

“The first part certainly is common.”

“And the second?”

“Well, the emotions are certainly real. It can all feel so real while it’s happening and maybe even for a while after.”

“So, I’m fine then.”

“I would definitely say what you’ve felt isn’t wrong.”

“That’s great. I mean, I was so worried, I — ”

“But you may have an addiction.”

“An addiction? Like an alcoholic or something.”

“Yours isn’t quite like alcoholism and, anyway, let’s not throw labels around. You don’t have to let the tendency define you. You can control how much it takes from you, if you decide to make the change.”

“But ever since Joan was diagnosed, and I have so many applications due next month, so many people to perform for.”

“The tears are progress. Let yourself feel what you need to feel so that you can move on.”

“…”

“The feelings won’t hurt you, Kerry.”

“Yeah, they’ll only make me feel like my throat’s collapsing and my stomach’s strangling itself.”

An African doctor fights for women’s health in my newest title No Pain in Vain on Amazon at: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0727N4DZK/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital4-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1493039016&sr=1-1&keywords=no+pain+in+vain

All proceeds will be donated to the Fistula Foundation for women’s health!

--

--