Great set visit with Mike Dowd from The Seven Five

There’s a myth that persists in Hollywood that I’d like to address and dispell: Television is a writer’s medium. It’s a lie. Television is a writer’s and director’s medium.

I’m a director. I direct movies, like Silver Skies, Acts of Worship. I also direct Television including The Good Wife, Jessica Jones, Empire, Outsiders, Manhattan, Law & Order SVU and others.

As a director, I’m also an artist. I read black and white ink on paper, and immediately start to visualize what’s on the page. That’s just what happens. Sometimes, I may watch a compelling documentary that pulls me in and I begin seeing what people in the movie are describing or discussing.

In other words, I see things. I don’t just think them. I see images, my heart pumps faster and I get excited to connect reality with those thoughts that inspire me. Words on a page inspire me, and words that great writers write spark directors to create works of art in the form of television or film.

A million decisions about what those words really “look” like before the camera shoots them are made by the director. We weave all the scenes and characters into a story that we see, from the beginning to the end. We work with casting directors, production designers, costume designers, props, hair/makeup, locations, stunt coordinators who come with their ideas, and we decide how we want to tell visually. That’s what directors do. Without us, a TV episode would not come together in a singular vision. Writers write scripts and directors bring those scripts to life.

When collaboration between a writer and a director is productive, that’s when the magic happens. We work together, and something greater than the writer and director takes over: creativity absent of ego. Rule Number Ten: Collaboration between a writer and director is what makes a film or TV episode great. True collaboration brings an environment of creative freedom where ideas thrive and flourish without fear of judgment. That’s creativity without ego. It’s rare but possible.

The only way collaboration happens is when people put their egos aside and invite in that greater creative energy. A director can’t direct an impactful episode without an impactful script. And a powerful writer can’t write a powerful a script without a director. I know that’s controversial, but that’s my opinion. We need each other to create, to move an audience. Rule Number Eleven: Control hinders creative flow. Open your heart to pull out the courage, inspiration and power that’s there and share it with your collaborators. Every day I go to work, I take a moment to remember that what I’m about to do is use my gift to help others and be the best director I can be. Then I stay open to what’s going to happen on set. I’ve done a lot of homework: planned my shots and know the performance beats that need to be hit. So when I arrive on set, I’m open to change, to new revelations. I get excited about seeing creativity from other people reveal itself in unexpected ways. I’m always the keeper of the vision, but I remain flexible enough to adapt and deepen that vision with someone else’s idea.

I’ll give you an example. Yesterday, I was on the set of a seasoned show that’s been on the air for seventeen years. The longest running dramatic series on the air right now, Law & Order: SVU, with the incredible Mariska Hargitay. The crew and actors have shot literally hundreds of interrogation scenes. The interesting script by Samanth Corbin-Miller, gave me ideas about how to shoot it that are slightly outside the standard way. Warren Leight, the wonderful writer who execute produces the show, is a great collaborator. During prep, we discussed the visual style of shooting this particular story. So I was ready to play.

I shot Mike Dowd behind bars.

Then a visitor came to see me on set. I had watched the documentary #TheSevenFive and was taken by the story and the main character #MikeDowd. This is one of those docs that got me sparked. Big time. So I reached out to Mike, and he came to visit me on set. I was thrilled to meet him, but especially to have him there in a world he knew so well! He lived the reality of interrogations more than anyone who’s been on that show for seventeen years! In all my anticipation about meeting him, I had thought about that. But the real impact that his experience and timing of his visit would have on my directing those interrogations scenes didn’t hit me until the end of the day. His comments about the scene helped me make the scenes even better! The scenes came alive in a way they wouldn’t have without Mike being there, his energy, his experience and the way he inspired me. It was so exciting and my enthusiasm filled that stage! Episode airs February 17. Watch it and you’ll see.

Those are the moments I live for. These moments where life jumps off the page and reveals itself in unexpected ways and gets inside my heart and in the hearts of others. It’s not just TV. It’s life. And nothing about it is better with ego in the way. Writers that want to write without collaboration should only write books. And directors that want to direct without collaboration should write their own scripts to direct. Collaboration is what makes great art. TV is not a writer’s medium, it’s a director’s as well. Let’s re-adjust our thinking and conversation on that.

https://www.facebook.com/SilverSkiesMovie?fref=ts

www.rosemaryrodriguez.com

Rosemary Rodriguez

@TheSevenFive @TheMikeDowd #TheSevenFive #TheMikeDowd #SilverSkiesthemovie #Law&OrderSVU

--

--

Rosemary Rodriguez
Applaudience

Film/TV Director: #HOMEBEFOREDARK #JESSICAJONES #THEWALKINGDEAD #THE GOOD WIFE Sundance feature #ACTSOFWORSHIP & #SILVERSKIES