Suicide Squad Review

Anthony "No Middle Name" Mai
Applaudience
Published in
5 min readAug 6, 2016
Cover art to the first issue of Suicide Squad comics in 1987

Just saw Suicide Squad, I enjoyed it a lot, so what do I to have say about the critics? ‘FUCK THE CRITICS!’ of course the movie wasn’t perfect, but what film is? The story line to me was fairly straight forward, I understood the complaints about the first 15–20 minutes being paced slowly but I thought it was very necessary. One of the strong points of the movie was the cast, all the actors/actresses to me brought their A+ game even if they were given little to work with. The movie was actually a little bit of a tear jerker, had some moments. Overall I enjoyed it, it was actually a fun movie, doesn’t deserve to be panned by critics, you can definitely tell it’s a David Ayer film. If you’re not familiar of his works, he directed Street Kings, End of Watch, Sabotage, & Fury, also was the writer of Training Day. I’d also like to point out that David Ayer did a great job of choosing the music for the movie, props to you & the score by Steven Price was absolutely great too. It went together very well. I’m definitely excited for the DCEU. P.S. Don’t leave the theater as there is a mid-credits scene. Suicide Squad did pay homages and one of those homages was literally like the iconic cover to batman: harley quinn one-shot.

Cover art by Alex ross of Batman: Harley Quinn one-shot

Lets break down some characters:

Dr. Harleen Quinzel and the Joker

First off, lets talk about Harley Quinn and the Joker. Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn, she definitely killed it as the character, first time brought to the big screen, and she was fantastic, she brought charisma to the character. Jared Leto as the Joker, what of it? I personally thought he was good, along the lines of Mark Hamill’s Joker. Elements of Brian Azzerello’s & Lee Bermejo’s Joker there. Did he blow me away like Heath Ledger from The Dark Knight? Unfortunately, he didn’t, but to me that’s due to him not having enough screen time to shine, but that’s understandable, considering, he’s not apart of the Suicide Squad in the comics, only meant to be apart of Harley Quinn’s story. Definitely has room to improve though. As a matter of fact, I love his many laughs. The dynamic of the two is beautifully done in my opinion, I enjoyed how Harley Quinn is so madly in love with the Joker whilst he is crazy for her, the movie depicts this very well. From the beginning of the flashbacks where they meet to when the Joker does what he has to do to locate her to when she thought he died to the ending scene where he breaks into Belle Reve with a small army to free her, you can feel their emotions, you’ve gotta love that.

The Joker reunites with Harley Quinn, he and his henchmen breaks her out of Belle Reve, love this scene!

Will Smith is Will Smith, he was great as Floyd Lawton/Deadshot. Viola Davis from How to Get Away with Murder plays Amander Waller who’s the one responsible for forming Task Force X by implanting a bomb into their neck, forcing people to do against their will is her specialty, she nailed that role to the bone. Playing the mean woman where you felt you would detest her but also like her too all at the same time, like Killer Croc said in one scene, “I like her.” I think the surprises, wild cards, were Joel Kinnaman’s Rick Flagg, Jai Courtney’s Captain Boomerang, & especially Jay Hernandez’s Diablo, definitely. They all brought energy to the roles, exceeded expectations. Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje’s Killer Croc & Karen Fukuhara’s Katana to me was also all cool additions but only served more as action set pieces to the movie. A lot of reviewers said Cara Delevingne didn’t shine as Enchantress, I actually quite enjoyed her role more than expected with what little she had to work with. Similar to Margot Robbie, I thought she brought charisma to Dr. June Moone but in a different way but it works. I also found it kind of odd to use Enchantress for Suicide Squad, not that it was a bad thing, I just thought it would’ve been a better fit for a Justice League Dark movie with John Constantine, something along the lines of that category. Just a thought.

Sucide Squad movie characters’ comic counter parts of when they were debuted

There were also two special cameos, Batman & the Flash, no surprises there, considering most of the villains in Suicide Squad are mainly Batman’s rogue gallery and Captain Boomerang is the Flash’s villain in the comics. Ben Affleck doesn’t just appear as Batman but in the mid-credits scene, he appears as Bruce Wayne and is meeting up with Amanda Waller. If you didn’t understand the scene, it pretty much sets up the Justice League. I’ve gotta say it’s nice to see this version of Bruce Wayne/Batman do more detective work, as he is known as the world’s greatest detective. If you’ve ever seen the Justice League animated series, this was literally like watching the cartoons where they (Batman & Amanda Waller) interact it, love it.

Cover art to Suicide Squad #10

I understand what the critics were saying about the flaws but it wasn’t as bad as they claimed. I believe when you start to nitpick at things, you’ll find it. Overall, the movie to me was great, I’d give it a score of 7.6/10.0 *******

--

--

Anthony "No Middle Name" Mai
Applaudience

Level: God of Destruction, artist, I collect stuff, Batman fanatic, comic book enthusiast, movie lover, & self-proclaimed film critic 🦇📚🎥🎞🖊✏️