Second post and the review of Time Lapse movie

Ivan Mylyanyk
Applaudience
Published in
4 min readJun 2, 2015

Recently I have written my first blog post about my friends taking part in the programming competition and know what? I really enjoyed blogging! To be honest, I wanted to intertwine my life with journalism a few years ago. So, I suppose I can satisfy my inner needs now via this blog on Medium. I am going to post here all the different stuff from movie reviews to solutions of the algorithmic problems. And today I am writing a review of the movie I saw recently and really enjoyed. Here we go!

At the very beginning, I will tell you that I am not going to spoiler here. I will just tell my summary expression from the movie and describe the beginning of the storyline.

Danielle Panabaker played Callie

Three friends (Callie, Finn and Jasper) discover the mysterious machine, which takes photos from the future. Callie found the strange machine while searching for the neighbor who was missing for a few days. It looks like an enormous camera which prints polaroid-like photos. It is pointed directly to their window from the building on the other side of the road. The camera takes photos every day at 8 p.m. and prints on the photo what it’s going to be in exactly 24 hours.

Well, having such a powerful thing in your hand, the best idea our characters come up with is to show the winners of the dog racing to the camera, to yourself, but one day younger. Poor guys! Couldn’t they figure out something smarter and more ambitious? Their idea seems legit, but they got some troubles when the bookmaker noticed their unbelievable success.

Talking about the plot, I want to say that the time manipulation is carefully designed here. I mean, I really enjoy the concept they tried to develop:

“don’t try to fuck up the time”

First of all, at some point guys understand that they aren’t the “owners” of the machine. It’s vice versa. They have to be ready for the today’s 8 pm in exactly the same position as they have seen themselves on the photo day ago. Sometimes it’s really difficult, and only the absence of the neighbor reminds them what may happen in case of disobedience.

Difficult choice, indeed

Also, we can see how develops people’s behavior to get what they want. Obviously, when you have the power over the time, you cannot go away without some murders(This is Hollywood, baby, and you cannot change it). Anyway, I was really impressed and curious when noticed this hunger-for-blood change in the characters behavior…

I suppose I will stop there with the plot, as I really recommend to watch it on your own. I can bet you will enjoy the ending!

I enjoy reading/watching everything related to time manipulation, and this movie isn’t an exception. Nice play from actors and well-thought-out plot(besides characters with poor imagination) receive from me 8 stars on IMDB (:

Official trailer on Youtube

In the meantime, I also would like to recommend a nice trilogy “Ruby Red”. This is the story about the small community of time-travellers, which exists in 21st century all over the world. They have been developing their own rules, the world-manipulating system and conspiracy for ages, but the new member is going to challenge it all. Really breathtaking and, again, well-thought-out plot. I recommend it to everyone who is interested in time-travelling fiction.

And a few funny stuff related to magic camera and time travels:

Every single time!
You never know…

--

--