H. Nemesis Nyx
Applaudience
Published in
1 min readSep 1, 2016

--

This is the point, isn’t it? It just wasn’t possible before, we can now. We can enrich ourselves by being open to difference, by embracing it, even in something that some might consider ‘silly’ like comics (I don’t think they are silly, by the way) we would be called to vibrate at a higher frequency.

Again, I find myself wanting to apologize. This is so petty and ignorant. It is so destructive and selfish. We don’t own the characters we love in the stories we read. If they can change, maybe we could change too.

One things for sure if we can’t learn to embrace changes like this in comic books, how on Earth will we manage to come together face to face in flesh and blood?

And suddenly I wonder if that isn’t weighing heavily on your heart, TH? Is that weighing you down? You are a super hero in your own right, enough that I know you won’t let that become your personal kryptonite.

Those who cannot stand change will not withstand it either and I know it goes without saying that you are not one without withstanding.

Personally, I want to see more women, especially black women super heroes. Too many women that I love do not have an avatar; there aren’t enough choices for them or for me.

And I am grateful to you for standing up for us.

-Cyborg

--

--